Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Vampire Assassin

by sathorn - Jam Entry

You are a vampire assassin. To clarify, you are a vampire that is also an assassin. Kill people and drink their blood to "grow stronger".

However you don't actually become stronger when drinking blood, because i ran out of time.

Tools: Unity, Photoshop, Audacity

Credits:
Music:
"90th Floor" by CyberSDF
"Forged" by CyberSDF
Font:
"Fjalla" by Sorkin Type Co

Controls:
The game has a tutorial that explains the controls.
WASD - Move
Space - Jump towards cursor.
Q - Teleport between shadows. It teleports you onto your cursor when you and your cursor are in the shadow.
LMB - Bite towards cursor. Don't bite against the spears, bite them from behind.
RMB - Throw dagger towards cursor (once you got it). You can pick it up again.
You can see your cooldowns at the bottom of the screen.
Drinking blood resets your cooldowns and heals one heart.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#84Fun(Jam)3.82
#231Overall(Jam)3.63
#378Mood(Jam)3.38
#502Innovation(Jam)3.16
#512Humor(Jam)2.65
#586Graphics(Jam)3.31
#1065Theme(Jam)2.34

Comments

Fidrik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10am

Amazing game. Truly enjoyed it!

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

Very nice ! I liked the shadow part of the gameplay, it makes the whole thing much more interesting. Music was funny too. A bit laggy on the web version.
Good job.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:17am

Exit button doesn't work, please fix !
Just kidding. Really liked the concept, getting through the last room was atually challenging !

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:07am

Pretty amazing game! It would be nice to see it on mobile platforms. Please give me a discount in the future! Thanks buddy.

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:56am

Interesting, the controls are a bit difficult but I also have an "AZERTY" keyboard and not "QWERTY" so WASD is not the best for international support (at least double it with arrow keys).

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Well made game, and it was interesting to see that I wasn't the only one which made vampire game. :D There was some level which was really hard to pass, but other than that I enjoyed it. :) nice.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Very nice game !

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Good game, very enjoyable.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:20pm

For those with AZERTY keyboard press ALT+MAJ to switch it to QWERTY.

That is a nice game I enjoyed it !

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Nice entry! good floor texture and sound effects. the controls are good!! blood bloooood and more bloooood :->

h.attila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Awesome, really well made game. The soundtrack, the graphics, the effects - all really well done. Good job!

Pedrito73 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:08pm

cool, diffcult to control

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:36am

Loved this Hotline "Darkness" Miami! The Blink was my favorite part. Well done guys!

smbe19 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Really cool game.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:45am

Brilliant game. Very nicely executed. Definitely one of my favourite so far.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Challenging, and really fun! Controls are great.
Only thing I can complain about is I think the interpretation of the theme is a bit too weak.

Gordy says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:38am

Look´s good. Overall, the game looks pretty good. But there is a lot of stuff that bothers me .. I do not want to complain about the difficulty but the 3 rooms I find it difficult enough .. Anyway, very good idea! Thumbs up ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]