Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ookami to Koushinryou to Kane

by Eikinel - Compo Entry

Hi everyone !

I'm Valentin Pierrel, a french student in second year of computer programming from Epitech Lyon in France.

This game is based on the anime "Ookami to Koushinryou" better known as "Spice and Wolf".
You are Craft Lawrence, a travelling salesman in medieval times. In a town, tons of affairs can be done, and you can realize your dream of getting enough money to buy a real shop !

You begin with 100 silver thorenis in your pocket, and you trade merchandises over and over until you get 4000 silver thorenis !

Are you ready to trade ? :)

NB : README.md is important. Read it if you don't know how to execute the game or play !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2073Coolness26%

Comments

vrld says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:37pm

The download link seems broken :(

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00am

This looks fantastic, but I can't seem to see the .love file or a working link! :(

Eikinel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:12am

I changed the link for my github, now you can play !
I wrote a Nota Bene at the end of the description : you install Löve2D on your pc ("yaourt -S love" with my Arch) and you execute the game with "love . main.lua"

I hope you'll enjoy the game !

Shivur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:22am

Good mood.

ddoomus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:35am

I wish there was a mac version.

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:10am

Very simple gameplay, but seems work well in making me anxious. Almost yelled out, why the price just don't go up!!! Nice work~

Eikinel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:44am

Do a Mac version is in my project, don't worry OS X guys :D

Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Epitech Paris here !
Nice job on this game ! The graphical assets are nicely put together and the gameplay is already good and open to a lot of new mechanics. I hope you'll continue working on this game !

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Ready to hit the stock markets, now. Thanks!

Nice idea, interesting take on the theme.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Great idea. But moving the mouse between buy and sell takes a lot of time (and effort:) for a game where you might have to react quickly. There should be key bindings.

nassi says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:11pm

This should be a jam entry.

It had a nice mood, but only being able to follow one chart at a time was problematic since they changed so fast. Seconding the key bindings comment.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]