Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Verde

by laxeot - Jam Entry

CONTROLS:
Arrow Keys OR WASD - Move
Z - Interact

All assets were created within 72-hours.

KNOWN BUGS
------------------------------------------
> The ending cutscene does not always fire on the Web version.
> Some cutscenes don't always fire
------------------------------------------

I don't think I've experienced a project like this before. It was incredibly fun to work on, and I got to do something amazing with my frineds.

The first time I remember smiling on this project was when Momo showed me some dialogue they had written. I loved it right off the bat, and couldn't wait to put it in the game. A lot of it had to be cut,
but that's what post-mortem is for, right?
The second time was when Aja showed me the first sprite for Jasmine. I just lit up, it was perfect. We modeled her after our friend, Yosa, because they are super cute.

Working on this project was incredibly stressful. I remember at one point, we were just looking at YouTube tutorial on how to ''hardcore dance.'' Now I know how to do ''the windmill''.
We were honestly having a really fun time, and that's what counts. This game is small, and probably will not make it very far in the Dare. But, we tried, we put our souls into it, and we want to turn it into a full game.

I want to specifically thank Blair for their wonderful graphics, which sadly weren't included due to time constraints. We were looking forward to using them!
I also want to thank Yosa for being there with us during this, and putting up with our s%&t. We love you a lot, thank you.
Momo's parents also deserve a mention. They put up with four loud, smelly kids screaming about that one video of the baby covered in peanut butter at 4:00 AM.
Lastly, I'd like to recognize Momo and Aja for being the most wonderful dev team in the world. Love you guys.

We're really looking forward to the post-mortem version, but our main project, ''Dreams Aren't Random'' is going to be our focus. Make sure to look out for that!


Thank you for playing Verde. This was honestly an incredible experience for us.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#346Audio(Jam)3.32
#404Graphics(Jam)3.65
#568Humor(Jam)2.56
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#647Mood(Jam)3.05
#757Overall(Jam)3.05
#994Innovation(Jam)2.20
#1038Theme(Jam)2.53
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

tGiant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25am

This is a nice little game and funny adventure.
Well done.

Ghen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:02am

yep, simply one of the best game i played so far, the control smooth, graphics and audio match really well

laxeot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:29am

@tGiant
Thank you!

@Ghen
Thank you so much!

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:49am

web version is buggy as stated. bugged out just after the worm fight.

laxeot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:09am

@piper82 Yeah, I'm honestly not sure how to fix that. It's a problem with the HTML5 renderer.

moltanem2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:19am

I loved the animations, wonderful little game :)

Firellon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Web version: you kill worm, you freeze in space and time. Overall idea does not look very innovational, but graphics/audio are decent.

laxeot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:29pm

@Firellon Yeah, sadly I have no idea how to fix that. There's supposed to be a cutscene after that, and it works on Windows.

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:44am

Really nice start here! It's pretty fun seeing what a group of people can make in a weekend. Keep it up!

acotis says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Like others, I killed the worm, then the other dude approached me, and time stopped forever. Cute though :P

snowshovelboy says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:45am

Bugged for me after the worm fight, too.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]