Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Car Train

by Duobix - Compo Entry

You're driving a car that's in hurry-hurry to make a road train.
Touch other cars with the same color as yours, or grab a paint bucket to change color to catch other color cars.

Every 3 cars of the same color in line give some bonus points!

BTW, if you wanna drop me a message or stalk me to death: twitter.com/duobix

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#490Theme3.72
#610Innovation2.94
#629Humor2.00
#669Audio1.88
#822Fun2.59
#834Graphics2.28
#854Mood1.87
#939Overall2.44
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:38am

Pretty okay. I wish the camera started out a but further back, or that it was easier to see when another car was going to side-swipe you

filthsu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:45am

Nice game, damn hard :D

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:51am

With the player in the middle of the screen, dodging the wrong color of car is almost impossible. Pretty cool otherwise though!

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:58am

Good feel and nice car models for such a short time. As others have noted, I might have enjoyed it more if the camera position were tweaked.

gironC says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:00am

too hard to me, but nice game! i like it!

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:59am

Haha, this is some flappy bird-esque difficulty you've got going here. Hard, but rewarding!

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:02am

Dude, that is really nauseating. The controls move the rest of the world instead of the car (but also the car a bit).

Anyways, good use of the tried-and-true 'avoid things you can't see' genre. I giggled when i joined onto another car for the first time.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:15am

Very challenging :) however I feel the camera is too close, as I cannot even move out of the way in the time it takes for me to hit a car.

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Wish the camera was a little further out. It's a great idea :)

zebi24 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:34pm

It's fun, nice idea. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]