Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Winter Wilds

by Bastienre4 - Jam Entry

Winter Wilds is a top-down survival game in which you must survive the harsh condition of winter, leading your pack of wolves and make it prosper. Find the wild does and get close to them discretly before jumping for the kill, or they'll run away. Be careful, running makes the pack hungry and without food, some wolves will die... plus, you're not the ultimate predator, there are hunters about, and they're as hungry as you are...

Game Design Thomas De Mot and Romual Carbone
Programming François Rivoire and Bastien Giafferi
Art Paul Heynen and Lucas Terryn
Sound Design Matthieu Henot
UX Lauren Quiniou

Bisous aux enjminiens.

PS : For the web player, use Firefox or Safari. Chrome isn't supported anymore.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#61Mood(Jam)4.05
#77Audio(Jam)3.96
#119Graphics(Jam)4.22
#138Overall(Jam)3.78
#198Fun(Jam)3.57
#265Innovation(Jam)3.48
#499Theme(Jam)3.69

Comments

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10am

Unity player throws error "Failed to decompress data for the AssetBundle 'WebStartData'." and doesn't start...
Screenshots are awesome, please fix!

jim3wg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36am

Nice game, was funny to hunt with my wolfes :)

Bastienre4 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:57am

@dustyroom : It's fixed.

Dianouille says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Nice graphics, make a 3D game in 72h isn't a easy challenge ! Gameplay is simple but fun, good job.

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49pm

ROCKS LIKE HELL! GET DEM PREYS

Am says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:09pm

good job guys !

Meta-link says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Cool game guys !
The gameplay is easy to understand and the graphics really cool, good job !

jlouisB says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Good job !
The graphics and the audio are greats, and the result is impressive for a game made in 72 hours.

I just find the game too easy and I havn't understood the utility of the "hide" feature.

Pantoufle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Super boulot les copains! J'aime beaucoup les visuels et la musique. L'ambiance générale fonctionne très bien et je trouve la difficulté bien réglée (j'ai eu un moment de panique sur la fin, je ne trouvais plus de proies... j'ai même perdu un loup).
Bref, bravo à toute l'équipe et bisous de l'ENJMIN :-)

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:15pm

i like it

kmakai says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Wow! This is such and ambitious and impressive entry. Excellent job all around, with the look, the sounds, the unique gameplay, everything! Great job.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Was very enjoyable hunting down food as a pack of wolves!
My only gripe with the game was that they seemed a bit unresponsive occasionally, other than that it was a great experience!

JustASHadow says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Programmer messed up. Outside of that, great job on the graphics, sounds and overall atmosphere!

Ghen says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:44pm

remind me of shelter, clean visual and nice gameplay :)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:04am

Awesome! I love the hand painted style of the logo and the 3d art. Great sound and overall vibes. Although I did have some lag issues. Great job!

jsmars says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:08am

Very nice concept and well made game!

Mano says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:14am

I love the graphics and the controls. Sometimes trees get in the way of seeing my wolves, but over all, really good.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:17am

winter is coming) Your graphic is really cool!!! footprints in the snow are highly! thumbs up

jewagenaar says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:38am

Wow! Excellent job. The mechanic works well, the game looks amazing, and it has a great mood.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Nice game! Looks good and plays well.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Nice idea and very good audio - it really builds the mood

Chewie says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Great game!
Was disappointed that cant kill hunter and haven't found good use to Hide mechanics.

MalyTimi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:37pm

beautiful game.

Mirch says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:46am

Really good! And I really enjoyed the music.

What I might say is that sometimes the mob collision can be buggy? Not a big problem though.

Starspell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:07am

Great little game, really enjoyed playing.

One aesthetic bug: When you beat the game trees can poke through the end of game UI.

Feature request: I feel as if I should be able to kill hunters. I managed to completely sneak up on one and was sitting on top of him for a little while before I realised I couldn't hurt him.

SamH says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:16am

Truly amazing art for a nicely executed game. Congratulations, fellow Frenchies!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:14am

Good job guys! In all categories.

I never knew how much fun it could be to hunt, kill, and eat a deer!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Good music and i really liked the tree model style. Nice feel but the gameplay itself is too dull. I was missing an indicator as to how far winter has progressed and I wasnt sure the hunter attacked me until my doggies suddenly fell over.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Overall a good entry with some technical hiccups and loose design.

Issues:

- The level has some invisible walls which glitch the movement of the entities. This is most prevalent near the edges of the map.

- Animations sometimes don't blend properly causing entities to slide around and such. This could be due to the "Has Exit time" variable in the Animator.

- The hunter is a bit lame. It too easy to run him over and then notice that you cannot kill him. I'd change him to always spot the wolves way in advance (he could have a dog that starts barking or just keen eyesight) and then start shooting with his weapon. This way you could kill the hunter with a big enough pack, but you'd end up losing a few wolves.

- The pack mechanic is a little arbitrary at the moment. Why do you get a new wolf when catching a deer? I would start the player off with a big pack and have a few stray wolves patrolling the level who join you if you find them. Losing wolves will have a bigger impact if it is harder to raise and maintain a big pack (more wolves require more food).

- More survival mechanic would be nice, for instance finding shelter when a blizzard comes around. There are a few winter survival simulators out there from which to get inspiration.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Bien joué! Les graphismes et l'audio sont bons! Le jeu manque néanmoins de challenge. La possibilité de se cacher ne m'a pas semblé utile (le chasseur ne m'a pas semblé très agressif et les proies sont facilement atteignable). Néanmoins, au delà de la LD, l'ajout des quelques briques de gameplay pourrait rendre le concept intéressant (j'ai lu dans les commentaires que l'ajout d'un blizzard pourrait être cool). Pour le reste, c'est tout bon, bon boulot ! ;)

zulman says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Game concept looks similar to Tokyo Jungle. The art is truly beatiful, even the logo is masterfully done. Great job.

Tortoise says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Awesome, loved the graphics, audio, and everything id love to see this as a full game.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:51am

Love the concept. You should check the movement, Overall the game is pretty nice. Good job.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:10am

Fun game however the controls can be a little glitchy when I hover my mouse over areas where the wolves can not go. really nice concept and polish though ;D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]