Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Drez-eX

by Leaghorn - Compo Entry

##############################################

>>>>>> PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTION <<<<<<

You dont EAT THE ORBS
you ABSORB THEM

Catch them IN A LOOP for a moment until they POP
I lowered their energy almost to zero but you still have to catch them or at least touch them couple times to pop them

##############################################

Hi

My game is a snake-like game where you have to catch orbs to get bigger and then fight the boss.

orbs run fast so the strategy is to catch them in a Loop.

Avoid red mines. They will cut you.

When you are long enough (~60 segments) you can fight the boss. You have to destroy red canons that spits red mines. There are 5 of them. To destroy it you have to short two electric beams on both sides of the canon with your body to shock the canon until it explodes.

*************************************************

CONTROLS:

[LEFT Arrow] / [RIGHT Arrow] - movement left /right
[LEFT Arrow] + [RIGHT Arrow] - BOOST

[F] - full screen toggle
[R] - restart

*************************************************

POST COMPO:

- added some sounds and music
- added camera bloom (just for the nicer effect)
- added number of current segments (length of the snake)

Update #2

- lowered the difficulty. Many comments about how hard it is to catch an orb so I lowered their speed so they dont run away as fast. Hope it's easier now.

*************************************************


Work time ~20h.

Enjoy. Hope you like it ;)

Cheers

*************************************************

// there is a CHEAT
// Press [A]+[L] to add segments manually.
// Dont overuse it ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#40Graphics4.35
#115Mood3.64
#338Theme3.90
#345Overall3.40
#426Innovation3.23
#614Fun2.98
#646Humor1.95

Comments

Todnut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Pretty game!

Zulgot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Wow super pretty graphics!!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:35am

Graphics and movements are pretty awesome.

Innobec says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:44am

Very cool and moody!

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46am

Really love the graphics, really interesting presentation

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:47am

Good but could not eat the orbs, red or blue!

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51am

Cool looking, good feel, interesting mood, just... I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do here

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:52am

Very immersive

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53am

This game is fun, but it's a bit hard to get used to catching the orbs. Music and graphics are great!

djfariel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:54am

So hard to snare those little orbs... Was really fun.

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00am

Really nice looking game, I found encircling the orbs to be frustratingly difficult, unless I did it just right they would bounce right off my body.

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:13am

Very nice but hard to play!

trykondev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:20pm

The animation is crazy good on the snake

simoroshka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:41pm

I didn't get how you catch the orbs, they keep bouncing off. But the game visuals and feels are superb, great job!

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Awesome style!

Pusty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:59pm

lol this looks awesome! But I was only able to get one more fragment as the controls were to hard for me.
I also like the way the cut of part still moves! Nice!

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Pretty graphics, inmersive sound but was playing for 10 minutes and couldn't grab a single ore, maybe I suck but :/

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:02pm

That is an amazing looking dragon serpent, great job!

terry90 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:44am

The movement looks wonderful, and I love the way it grows. Great mood. Found the red orbs a bit too punishing! I LOVE that your broken tails continue to swim around. Nice.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Beautiful! The way the worm moves is amazing!
That's very sad the "eat" feature don't work :(

mikoĊ‚ak says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:12am

There are timing (game speed seems to depend on graphics detail) and generation (I only get a playable level 1/5 time) issues on my system.

Still when it works correctly, I like it, it fits both themes and feels consistent.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:20am

there were a lot of good things about this game - not just graphics - simple gameplay (i picked up how to get the orbs right aways by encircling them) and it was fun - great job

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Very moody. Beautiful visuals and original eati- I mean, absorption mechanic.

I managed to get some null refs though;)

TaoPhoenix says ...
Feb 10, 2016 @ 2:08pm

I wish there was a way to know where the boss was. I kept fading into the distance!

But at least I got my serpent the right length in the post compo versions, but still had trouble finding the boss so I couldn't even try to figure that out!

... For 20 hours work! (Plus Post Compo)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]