Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GeoGrowth

by SirJavaGaming - Compo Entry

A small but very colorful game.
Collect coins, dont collide with the geometric obstacles and get as much points as you can get!

Controls:
Left/Right arrow keys

If you have a score greater then 950 points, send me a screenshot (sirjavagaming@gmail.com) and you will be mentioned right here!

Hope you like it and thanks to all of you leaving a comment! ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#386Audio2.84
#665Humor1.85
#755Theme3.34
#804Mood2.36
#828Graphics2.33
#833Fun2.57
#907Overall2.58
#927Innovation1.94

Comments

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:34am

Fun background music!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:17am

Cool for doing it in a "real" programming language :)

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:38am

Nice music in background and nice gameplay, cool :)

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:13am

Lovely little game, the combination of the music and the colours is great, has a nice relaxing quality especially on easy. Full marks for mood!

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:15am

Nice music, reminds me of the old circus game for NES. :)

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Great little game. I like the ambiance you made. It's refreshing !

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:48am

nice simple, fun well done

thelasthour says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Fun little game. I would recommend making the colliders on the obstacles a bit smaller.

QuexD says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Great Game 8/r8 m8.


I loved it

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Works fine on my Mac, I've got the Oracle Java 8 JRE/JDK installed, could be that others have the (long deprecated) Java 6 runtime or possible the Oracle v7 JRE.

If the collision detection was a bit less severe it would have felt more fair. Always indent your bounding boxes by a few pixels to allow for perceived near-misses. Funky colour scheme and shapes and a UI to boot. Nicely done.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Interesting music and fun graphics. In-game instructions could have helped and it would have been nice if it didn't eat my mouse so I could reposition the window, but otherwise good work.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Cool objects but is confusing that all the obstacles do the same.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Nice happy mood to the game, especially with the music. Simple mechanics, but they work fine. Nice use of both themes.

muffty says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Fun having people watching you flaming you skill

Allthebees says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Nice game, like the music and overall upbeat mood. Couldn't quite hit the 950+ mark...

Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Nice simple executed game. Would be nice if there was some coin variety though with different values so you would have to make a choice of which one to get.

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:48pm

I accidentally opened up 3 copies of the game at because it took about a minute to load and I thought it just wasn't starting. When I closed them all, the audio was still playing, and I had to go find the process in ProcExp and kill it before the audio would stop. Not a fun time.

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:33pm

@Stuntddude Im sorry to hear. I personally havent experienced this but I can understand what you mean. But I hope You understand that coding a loading screen isnt really worth it on a 48 hour game jam. Hope you liked the game nevertheless. Have a "guten Rutsch" :)

Tselmek says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Fun little game, the randomness of it made some situations impossible to survive but overall pretty cool.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]