Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Droplet

by madcoil - Compo Entry

My challenge was to do as much of the graphics as possible using only a fragment shader. In this game you are a droplet of water and you are trying to become bigger by merging with other droplets. You have to avoid red droplets as they are evil and will absorb you!

It uses both themes:

Buttons are A and D (only two)
You grow as you absorb blue droplets.

The bigger you are, the more speed you have. Your score is the number of droplets you've merged with.

The droplets are all rendered with a custom Unity shader that raymarches distance fields. I cram data into it from unity (lights, objects) in an ultra hacky way that works somehow. It looks cool for fluids!

It's not something I'd call finished and it's a 1 and a half day-ish job, but it was fun!

Source code is here (it's MEGA hacky!):
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/o77p0brbvou9c18/AAAY4n7ZA7WTRCYgL19FaNiIa?dl=0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#118Graphics3.95
#122Audio3.57
#218Mood3.38
#244Innovation3.55
#372Theme3.86
#451Overall3.27
#709Fun2.82
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:26pm

I loved it really unique. :P

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:31am

Really solid fluid (lel) mechanics :P.Would have liked to see farther below (ahead). Graphics are ok, sounds are calm and very nice, even though the game can get hectic.

+ for using both themes, and the usage of the growing theme being very well-implemented.

Good luck!

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:49am

Very impressive, nice job.

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:17am

Even though the gameplay might not be that innovative, there's some feel to this game that keeps you playing. The game makes good use of both theme's and the graphics are great. The audio just fits the game perfectly and creates a real underwattery feeling. I have to admit I instantly died 8 times before I even got one blue droplet, but once I understood the game I got as far as 18.

Well done!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:19am

Good sounds and interesting idea. It was a bit hard to see where the drops will be landing.

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:22am

Cool concept! I got to 35.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Very fun and challenging game! graphics are nice and great fluid mechanics! by far one of my favorite games i have played this Ludum Dare!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28pm

nice liquid fx.. good controlls... but there could be some more stuff to do. I like the way the liquids are floating ... good job

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:00pm

As much as I realize you were sticking to a theme here, I think this game would work much better without the control restriction. Most notably, I'd like to be able to look around to find the blue blobs.

While building your own shaders is nice and all, you could accomplish something indistinguishable visually with a semi-transparent solid-color material in unity, a rotational animation on the droplet, and a normal map on the ground.

I think you tried too hard to reinvent the wheel and ended up running out of time before you built the cart. The game doesn't have enough to do and the controls feel like a hindrance more than a design feature.

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Cool to see you using LD as a way to give yourself a technical challenge, the rendering looks really nice!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:11am

It was nice to see someone try something unique, thats more of a technical challenge/demo than a game, and even as a game it was still quite fun too play. A couple ideas though: maybe you could have it so you can absorb the red blobs that are smaller than you, as sometimes I just didn't see them when I was looking at the big ones :D And you already implemented the theme of growing well so I think you should have opted for multi direction controls instead as the left/right which feels quite limited :P its quite impressive what you could do with just shaders... I might have to look further into them at some time :D

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:09am

I got to 14 once. Pretty with the shaders, and very impressive, but also very frustrating. Almost invariably, a red sphere would appear directly from the bottom of the screen, leaving you with hardly any reaction time. If the camera centered on the ball closer to the top of the screen, that would allow more time.

Also, there seemed to be a LOT of red spheres compared to blue spheres.

madcoil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15pm

I guess it is quite hard, but I can easily get to 50. :P

emmes says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:48am

Wow. Very relaxing mood, great graphics with bump mapping etc., nice sound.
The game itself is unfortunately pretty unfair, almost no chance to react. A little finetuning could do wonders here, so you're not far from a really nice experience.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]