Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Canoe A-Go-Go: The Saga of Johmemy

by ohmmus - Jam Entry

Johmemy, being lost at sea with no cell phone reception for several days, stumble upon a group of islands with a radio tower! Unfortunately, the radio tower is destroyed and there are strange beings all around the islands. Guide Johmemy around the islands in search of Scrap Metal, which they can use to rebuild the tower and call for help!

Controls:

A = Turn Left
L = Turn Right
A + L = Move forward

This is an entry a friend and I made together. First time for me using Phaser, or HTML5/JS in general, so that was a fun learning curve in itself.

My friend Jeremy K (@Obliterati), a web dev by trade, created the graphical content in PyxelEdit. He wanted to learn to create pixel art so this "trial by fire" of a Ludum Dare environment was perfect for him!

We hope you enjoy this game as much as we enjoyed making it. Feedback is encouraged! We only grow by learning, right? We want to do more LDs in the future, so help us out with pointers and tips!

Thanks for taking the time to vote!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#335Theme(Jam)3.87
#469Humor(Jam)2.72
#581Fun(Jam)3.08
#631Innovation(Jam)2.97
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#867Mood(Jam)2.64
#973Graphics(Jam)2.24

Comments

danidre14 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49am

Cool simple game! I bawled in horror when I collected all scrap and everything started flowing towards me, and right as I was about to get hit, I won!! Heart attack! :D


Nice game! :D

Like the idea of each button turns and both moves!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Very nice entry. I had a great time playing.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52pm

I like the control scheme, it makes it quite hard to control the boat, just like it would be. If you have the time, try to polish it a bit.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Cool game, liked the control scheme of using both buttons for forward movement.

denycetm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Great control scheme. Good use of the theme. I would like to be able to feather the buttons to get them moving and turning a bit. had some had some hard times when I collected the scrap and then went to collect what I thought was a power up and it turned out to be a bomb.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:46pm

simple mechanics and a nice game!

wongcito says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Nice game, you applied well the two buttons game mechanic!

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Very nice indeed! I found turning the boat around extremely slow for some reason, like it takes forever in comparison with just going forward. A theme well used for sure!

Big Cow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:30pm

I love it!! boat times

knason says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:58pm

fun game! I got blown up 2 times! :-) but then I made it. :-) good job!

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:33am

Cool idea. Nice graphics and great use of the theme. Congrats!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it. The theme I went fo was "Two Buttons" since you only click, and press the "Space" button. I'll add that to the description, thank you.. and maybe, I guess you grow in...experience, as well as stronger, when you upgrade. :3 In the shop, you can change your character colours, to avoid being blinded by the backgrounds. :D --my response to your comment on my game.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Man, those guys haul ass. Fun idea and I loved the death end screen. Good use of theme as well.

Darkflint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Niiice. But i did right before the last scrap -.-

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Oh man... Once I was kayaking with my brother and we got lost. (apparently it's possible to get lost on a river if you are dumb enough) Plus we are terrible at kayaking. This game feels exactly like that.
Overall - a very nice entry, congrats. :)

axoona says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:19pm

that's a very cool idea for the controls of the kayak!
also the inertion is nice, it really makes you feel like on water

adsilcott says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:41am

Great use of the theme!

aplomb says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:53am

Fun game, interesting controls, and goofy graphics. I like it!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Nic entry. Congratulation on making something like for your first time ;)

g12345 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:21am

This was a lot of fun. I was surprised at first what happened when you've collected all 9 items, but I did completed it.

I had a lot of fun playing it but this is probably a first that I don't even know how to improve it. It would be nice if the "Press A+L" text on the first screen was more visible, but basically it's a lot of good stuff here.

XenosNS says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Great idea. I had trouble with load times though, took a few minutes between screens to play.

RKG Zen says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:37am

Hahah love I love it!

Larzan says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:36pm

Haha, nice idea with the two paddle = two buttons, good theme interpretation, all fully working, well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]