Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Runaway Rob

by dkdwrek - Compo Entry

THEME CHOICE: Two Buttons

You are ROB the robot, whose shorted circuits have sent yourself into a rampage! Blast through endless obstacles and enemies while trying to survive as long as possible.

Press SPACE to jump.
Press CONTROL (left or right) to shoot.

Made with:
Haxeflixel
Pickle
BFXR
Bosca Ceoil
GIMP

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#206Humor3.00
#331Audio2.97
#424Fun3.23
#523Theme3.68
#629Graphics2.84
#633Mood2.75
#673Overall3.00
#809Innovation2.52

Comments

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43am

Good gameplay! I found it a little difficult to jump over enemies rather than shoot, but wasn't too bad. Enjoyed this one a lot, particularly liked the subtitles.

lekochen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Good use of the subtitles, pew pew! I like music 2 :)

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:56pm

"BZZT - Defending the Constitution." Now that's a funny game! I didn't realize your could infinitely jump for a while -- bug or feature? I like the weird, offbeat vibe this has, it reminds me Toejam and Earl, tone-wise. The strange upbeat blues music accompanying the rampage seals the deal. Good job.

dkdwrek says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Thanks for the responses @OccamsRazor, @Iekochen, @fluidvolt!

It is intentional to allow infinite jumping, it just uses your 'robot power' points that are used for jumping / shooting. So jumping can lead to prolonged survival, but no more of those sweet points!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:48am

Game works well. Music is a bit repetitive. Difficulty could be higher. Nice to see you did a lot of graphics but they are a bit sloppy, maybe would have been better to focus on putting in less things of higher quality. Also, it's kind of random, like I'm a robot and I can fly but there are zombies and aliens. There is something kind of glitchy going on with the tile scrolling for me, not sure whats causing it.

JeffCODEblum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53am

Pros:
Game play is pretty solid and fun. It is challenging which I like. Some of the graphics were pretty cool especially the radioactive waste. Love the output/subtitles. I really appreciate the amount of different graphics used. Lots to see especially for a 2 day game.

Cons:
The mood was rather dark, this can be a pro or con depending on who you are. I felt that the light music did not fit the mood of the game. An ominous track would have worked really well (just opinion of course).

Great job, keep on developing and keep on drawing pixel art. You have got a solid foundation and I'm sure with some practice your games will get better and better.

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:38am

Fun game! I like these type of games. The graphics could use a little work. :D. Subtitles gave you 5 in humor.

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

Heya, pretty cool game! I really liked the radioactive explosion animation xD There was a good amount of content there for a 24 hour game, good job! Audio gets repetitive and a bit annoying relatively fast.

Regarding gameplay, I felt the game was a bit too easy... whenever I had three "Actions" left, I'd just use them to get up fast, and then slowly regenerate them, so if I kept an eye on that I was basically unkillable :X

Good luck!

SoulBound says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18am

A fun game. The art is amazing but I don't like the music to much. It is a bit repetitive.

Muel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54pm

I like the humor. Death to all humans hahahaha.

Someone go get John Connor! It has begun!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Really good game. I liked how both the jump and shooting used the same resource. Made me think twice before shooting. Good work!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Nice little game, simplitic too! Not bad art, and good music!

psychonull says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:17am

Great game! I found it kind of addictive, and also the smooth way I discovered the mechanics (jump in air, points used jumping/shooting, etc). The subtitles are a nice touch, and also liked the music that, as others commented, it adds a toejam&earl vibe to the game. kept playing until 10k and left wanting more difficulty as the game progresses or something! gj

Big Cow says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:48am

I found this really satisfying just shoot and jump its simple but addictive! I liked the different graphics too and the retro feel. There wasn't much to it but I like what you did within the time of the compo. Cheers!

Jan 9, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Neat graphics, cool game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/yY4Ylj7ccuc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]