Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Captain Ninjabeard

by GhostBomb - Compo Entry

Arcade action on the high seas!

Left click to use your pistol.

Right click to use your Katana.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#34Fun3.98
#44Overall4.00
#76Humor3.59
#84Mood3.77
#100Innovation3.85
#107Audio3.61
#147Graphics3.85
#523Theme3.68

Comments

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:42pm

You could probably sell this on steam right now. It's that good! Reminded me of Luftrausers in terms of game arrangement.

Great usage of the 2-button theme, as you both control movement and weapons with only 2 buttons.

Game was full of content as well, really brilliant stuff. Visually pleasing and audio was awesome too.

The only thing that I would improve is maybe putting a cap on the captain's maximum movespeed, as right now it felt really fussy controlling him with the shoot button held down. Instead I opted to fire in short bursts, only to better control the movement.

Wonderful! Good luck!

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Excellent game good job

Transmit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:54pm

That was really great! Very good job

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Super rad! Aesthetics and gameplay really awesome. One of the fav games on this LD.

btw, my best score 94 XD

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Instantly became more fun when I realized that the right mouse button is not just a teleport but an attack as well.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Really fun little game. I almost didn't give it a try because the screenshot looked unappealing. Boy that would have been dumb.
Loved everything about it. The music could have been more piratey, but the gameplay was solid, had nice variety of enemies, and had me hooked for about 5 minutes.
Pretty simple implementation of the theme, but it works.

Shark is a fucking bitch.

VDZ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Great game. Using shooting mechanics for movement works well with the gameplay of avoiding enemies, and the precise movement (and motion reset!) caused by the katana works very well to balance out the imprecise control of the gun recoil movement. Having them work in opposite directions also creates an interesting contrast. The game has quite a learning curve due to the unorthodox controls, but it gets more fun as you get better at it.

Minor nitpicks: The laser enemy seems to be too powerful, as it completely dominates the game once it starts appearing; it often comes from off-screen, is hard to dodge, and the movements required to dodge it frequently cause you to run into enemies/bullets. It deals several times more damage to me than all other enemies combined. Also, feedback on being hit seems to be too subtle; sometimes I don't even notice when I'm hit, and when I'm hit I'm not always sure what dealt the damage.

The graphics look nice, though I'm left wondering what's with the pirate theme when you're floating in the air propelled by some machine gun-like weapon, being attacked by flying enemies (including some that shoot lasers). The audio is nice and functional.

I can't say I'm very impressed with the implementation of the theme. Sure, you have two buttons, but the most important part of the controls is the mouse movement. You could call pretty much every single PC strategy game ever a two-button game like that.

Regarding controls, I think the game could be further improved using twin stick controls. Mouse movement is slow when you try to move large distances, particularly when you need to reach the exact opposite location (when trying to katana in the direction you're already moving, for example); something like dual analog sticks could make this much more convenient. It would also help with the awkwardness of mouse controls near the edge of the screen.

VDZ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Also, my high score was 94.

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:59pm

This game is great fun! The graphics are nice and everything works well together. Nice audio, too. Good job.

Minor nitpicks:
I would prefer if the game would capture the mouse as I accidentally clicked a couple of times on my second monitor.
Also I would prefer if there was a small zone on the edges of the screen I could not fly to. It would make it easier to turn around using left click.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:33am

I really enjoyed this! Nice feel, nice gameplay it was just a real blast to play! My high score was 153, those pesky laser spinny things got me in the end! Overall fantastic job!

hydancer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Cool game. A bit hard to get used to but after you do it's pretty great. If I had one thing I'd do differently it would be to give the player a katana charge back if they defeat an enemy. This would make it easier to keep long katana-only combos going

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:08am

I love your game, greate entry. I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

Ardy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:08pm

One of the best games I played.

Really simple and intuitive. I love how when new enemies show up I know exactly what it does. The controls works and there is enough challenge to keep bringing me back. I'll definitely keep this game on my pc so I can play it from time to time.

The only issue is that running it on double monitors the mouse kept escaping so I couldn't shoot away from one of the sides but I just dashed away.

Ah highscore saving feature would be nice but it's really good.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Great entry! I loved the shark jumping out of the water.

I like the concept of having to stay in the air by using your two attacks and trying to manage how much of each you have left. Good use of the two button theme.

Great artwork, sound, and music. Good job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Great game :) Really fun to play

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:58am

Nice!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:41am

A cool game for cool people.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:00pm

When I right-clicked and sliced through the air several times in a pattern, I felt acrobatic. If you continue to develop this, when I started and got swallowed by a shark a few times in a row, I felt unaware that right-click did something. And I'd be curious to try katana patterns that are a little slower or combos.

Loneshark says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:05am

63 points

Pretty good stuff! I found a good strategy for starting is to kind of do short burst fires to hover in the center.

A weekend game dev jam just isn't long enough for these projects as I can totally imagine more amazing ideas you might have implemented provided more time and rest =)

pkenney says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:21am

Cool graphics and an interesting idea to move around with the recoil and have some hard-to-control flying fun.

One small idea - I found it hard to get away from the edges with the gun, I think maybe if the game world ended but my mouse could still go a bit into a margin so that I could aim back to the center that would really help. I know I can teleport away but it was a trap that got me all the time and broke me out of the zone.

Other than that everything felt pretty smooth, and it's always interesting to see what you can do with some teleportation.

Nice entry!

Stending says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:36am

Génial ! Ce jeu est beau, intuitif et fun. Perfect !

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:01am

This is great. Very intense.

Waynetron says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:56pm

I read the name is Captain Ninjabread and was disappointed when I realised it wasn't.

Love the balance of the two attacks. Overall really nice. Needs more juice.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]