Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Keyboard Warriors

by jfx - Jam Entry

I wasn't going to enter LD this time, however I ended up making this right at the end of the jam in only a few hours. As a result there's not much to it ;)

-- Instructions --
It's a very small two player game where you must both fight over the keyboard.
One person should focus on the red button and the other person on blue.

Press the keys that show up on the buttons as fast as possible and don't let your opponent press theirs! (without any violence of course)

First to 500 points wins :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#94Theme(Jam)4.20
#273Fun(Jam)3.47
#336Innovation(Jam)3.38
#508Overall(Jam)3.33
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40am

Do I use the same keyboard? how does multiplayer work?

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42am

Awesome idea. So simple and yet so fun.

Joe Lawrence says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:43am

Yeah, you use the same keyboard. Basically one person should focus on the red button and the other should focus on the blue button. Sorry it isn't more clear! :)

Joe Lawrence says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:44am

@Leaghorn Thanks! Glad you like it :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:23am

That wasn't bad! I had a little game with me better half and she seemed to enjoy it. It was really nice and simple! :)

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:42am

Nice understanding of two button control! Good work!

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:58am

Well done. I like the competitive part of it :) Can be a nice social game at gatherings

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Great fun. While we were wrestling for control of the keyboard though, sometimes the game would freeze and it would take a while before the buttons would react again. Don't know whether that would be a problem on our or on your end though. But we had a blast playing this!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:08pm

I wonder how you made the sound effect for this :D
This seems to be one of those games where you smash the other persons hand when the gameplay gets too vivid.
Nicely done :>

MalyTimi says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Nice to se game for two players on one screen :D
Super fun idea

Jajo says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Very well made. I can't see any bugs. Sound was a bit boring, however. Pretty well done overall, especially in a few hours!

Tselmek says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Very fun idea. I didn't have a second player to play with but the game is very simplistic and polished. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]