Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

It's Full of Stars

by incobalt - Compo Entry

Sometimes we're asked to say who we surround ourselves with, what we like, what influences us. Rarely do we have a good answer, or the right answer, or the answer best at hand. But we make do and build a concept with what we can, and hope that it will turn out all right. Others will try to tell us what we are or what we should be, but it's up to us to position it just right and fit the good with the bad.

Featuring over 30,000 words or phrases to describe yourself as a maker or producer of <something> while trying to make an appealing pattern in the night sky.

Play is described on screen, but the controls are:
Click on a star - Center on star
Click and drag between stars - Connect stars on release
(At least one of the stars must be in your constellation)
Click and drag in empty space - Rotate around centered star
Click and drag with the other mouse button - Zoom in and out
(Hold Option or Alt and move the mouse if you only have one mouse button)


Whenever you are finished, you can wait a minute for the stars to fade. The "x" on the screen is there to get your mouse back (but you can always press escape to do that, per any browser), and quits the program in the Windows build. If you have the Windows version, you will get a chance to save a picture of your constellation before the end. The file will appear in the same directory as the executable. The Web version works best in Firefox. Chrome is both slow and prone to WebGL crashes.

-----

It's Full of Stars was developed in Unity (Personal) with a combination of 5.3 (WebGL) and 5.1 (Standalone).
Music and sound effects were made using LMMS.
The font is Always Together (http://www.dafont.com/always-together.font) and is one of my new favorite fonts.
What few images exist were made in Paint.Net.
The words and phrases were scraped from various wiki lists.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#122Audio3.57
#136Mood3.57
#182Innovation3.68
#456Overall3.26
#564Graphics2.95
#683Humor1.75
#853Fun2.50
#860Theme3.05
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:11pm

This game is so AWESOME. I really can't explain it. Music and sounds are excellent to!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Looks great, but its a bit hard to click so precisely

Jod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Loved the music and atmosphere, very well done!

The controls were hit-and-miss with me. Sometimes I was able to drag a star, sometimes I wasn't.

incobalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Thanks for the feedback! I've adjusted the description to address the situations you both are experiencing (one zoom controls, the other rules for connecting stars).

mlepage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00am

Nice. A bit hard to accurately click.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12am

wow. with only two buttons you made a lot of interesting controls. nice work.

alexrus07 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:18am

Less of a game and more of a poetic piece about your social connections. It was great. Very soothing.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Quite interesting. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XuTLfsOkf7k

veverichka says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Great concept, also the mood is really really nice :)

Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:23am

I cant get the webGL one to load, the concept looks awesome though

Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:24am

Interesting experience. Really nice audio. Sometimes the hover description wouldn't work. Would like to know what the other lines that appeared were all about (other players, random?)

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:07am

pretty music

incobalt says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:32am

Unity's WebGL implementation is spotty. Sometimes Chrome will just freak out about it and it will keep telling you to use Firefox. This one also takes quite a bit to load. As for the hover descriptions, they always do work, but if you get a star with no description, that's because of various generative fails (it tried to generate a used word too much, the list it's pulling from ran out of words, or other things). I decided to leave the empty star in, but connecting to an empty star doesn't add more stars.
Finally, the other line is randomly generated, and happens more often if you are connecting far away stars. I'd love to let it be other players interfering, but I wasn't about to figure that out for Ludum Dare.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:11am

I really liked the idea. I wouldn't call it a videogame, I don't feel I am playing, but feeling very curious about it. Anyway, music is beautiful and, again, the idea is really cool. Cheers!

Dreyan says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:03am

Had to download the game because I was unable to click the first star in the web version (I don't really know why?)

Anyway - very, very nice game (: It feels a bit raw, but it's rather relaxing and definitely makes you think ^^

hunttis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:18am

Strange, interesting idea. For some reason the clicking had a signifigant offset for me, when trying out for the first time as unity webgl was telling me to disable the cursor. After clicking disable, the clicking was accurate inside the game, but the cursor escaped before the border of the app.

incobalt says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:10am

Hmm... That sounds like you didn't allow it to disable the mouse cursor, or you clicked the x in the corner (perhaps inadvertently). But it might just be something about the actual request on certain browsers. As a side note, if you see your system cursor at all, then the disable didn't go through (I think clicking inside the webgl box will trigger the logic for recapturing the mouse cursor). The system cursor and the in-game cursor are unlikely to match up at all, so I had to disable it, but this is annoying on browsers since it (very properly) makes sure you want to be deprived of a mouse cursor. Without making my own cursor, I couldn't reposition the cursor after rotate or zoom, and such actions would be limited by the window size.

Molpe says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:37am

Nice idea! I like it a lot! I would appreciate some restart button or something like that? I wanted to make all kinds of constellations and I always had to restart the game... Also the stars start to disappear really quickly, when I tried to read the words, they started to fade and I panicked... Ox)

I've made a let's play video if you want to check it out:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4kK5hVCvmVI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]