Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Panic Room : LD34

by StrehFox - Jam Entry

First Ludum Dare! Had a rough time with this theme, but overall, we had fun with it. Enjoy!

- Panic Room -

Your job is to keep the monsters locked away. Be careful not to lock in survivors and DEFinitely don't let out any monsters!

Hold F or J to close the door linked with that button (shares color)
Careful not to hold the button too long or the system may short out!

Credits:
Art - James Wolf Strehle
Programming/Audio - Devin Strehle

Tools:
Game Engine : Game Maker Studio
Art : Photoshop + wacom tablet
Audio : Audacity


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#55Graphics(Jam)4.48
#335Theme(Jam)3.87
#341Mood(Jam)3.43
#499Audio(Jam)3.04
#615Fun(Jam)3.04
#660Overall(Jam)3.17
#674Innovation(Jam)2.91
#836Humor(Jam)1.76
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Great Job! The art is great! I liked how you had to pay attention to what door went with each button.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Wonderful graphics! Interesting take on the theme too!

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Oh my hacking GOD! creepy but sooo cool! GJ artsy boy!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Very nice. I sucked at it though :)

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Nice art and mood!
Reminds a lot of Five Nights at Freddy's.

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Wonderful art!

Zeriver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Whoaw that was intense! Great concept and execution, game is keeping you constantly on the edge, every couple of seconds changing what door you controll, not really time to think, you have to take action immiediatly when you see a monster. Graphics are also of high quality. Good job!
My personal best is 11 survivors.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:44pm

liked the game and the concepts of mixing buttons, although the controls were somewhat irresponsive sometimes.
But really good first entry!!

lawendt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Really nice game, there's a way to "bug" the game, by the way. Anyway, nice experience, keep up with the nice work!
Ps: Was there a cat in the game?
Also: My personal best is 21 ;)

StrehFox says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Cat, what cat?

Nice score! Can you provide some details on how to bug the game?

lawendt says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Well, didn't played looong enough, but you can press repeatedly both buttons, so you'll be kinda invincible. But I dunno, may be wrong...

I can bet that there was a cat in one of the doors, or this is messing with my head!

StrehFox says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:00am

I definitely have no idea what you're talking about with the cat. You can repeatedly close both doors if you want, but you'll never score any points that way. You have to let survivors out.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Amazing art!

simon.parzer says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:52am

Very nice art. The gameplay was challenging and I liked it

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]