Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Shadows

by Damdoshi - Compo Entry

In Shadows, you are a light wizard that send lights everywhere, everytime.
You can go through the dungeon and push red orbs in order to put them on some plinths. Red orbs absorb light's energy and throw even more light in response.
You have to attack the shadow entry point with light to win. There is a powerful light source in the dungeon you have to bend with red orbs to attack the shadow.

With left, you turn on left. Right, turn on right. With both, you go forward.
You can use escape to exit.

Dungeon are quite clear at the beginning, but the Shadows grow. Pay attention to pits, where you can fall and then die.

- - - - - - - - - -

I am not very happy with this one. First, I was not able to spent the time I would have liked to on, because of life... Second, it is laggy because it is poorly made. Third, the concept miss a challenge. There is only on true enemy: the control itself.

- - - - - - - - - -

You can change the windows resolution/fullscreen by editing config.lua.



- - - - - - -
25/12/2015:
I will soon post a postcompo version with some modifications:
- Improved performences
- Mouse + keyboard control
- The wizard won't throw light anymore (because it makes the light source useless...)
- Several light sphere will be added
- The wizard will be able to shoot
- There will be monsters

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#197Mood3.43
#300Audio3.04
#459Humor2.41
#509Graphics3.04
#655Innovation2.85
#683Theme3.46
#899Fun2.33
#920Overall2.54

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41am

What are the controls? I can only seem to spin in place. Looks pretty though :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:55am

very laggy, like you said. I'm afraid it's largely unplayable in its current state, but I'd really love to give it a shot if you ever make an optimized version of it! The ideas seem really cool!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Interesting game; The controls were a bit tough, but it has really good atmosphere. Great job!

Kyace says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:48pm

I liked your graphics and imagery. Your spreading shadows were a very neat effect and felt very claustrophobic. Full points on setting the mood.

It felt like I was fighting the controls rather than solving a puzzle. Would like to see your game without the 'two button' restriction. It seemed like you had the orbs mimic the control inputs of the player rather than have the player 'push' them. That led to some odd effects with being able to pull the orbs behind me sometimes. The plinths and the pits looked very similar, maybe make them looks more different.

Overall, feels like the beginning of a very good game. :) Sorry that you didn't get the time to flesh it out like you intended.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:24am

I only get about 1 fps when I try to play, the soundtrack was sounding good though

lawendt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:06am

What NickMakesGames said

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:09am

too bad the controls were messed up - looked promising

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:23pm

I liked this strange place. Management is not obvious, but I also made a game in two buttons! - I had a clue. the idea is really cool. sounds disturbing music, and shadow - very dramatic. I don't understand why you need lights and holes.

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:48pm

C'est... bizarre. Les graphismes sont sympas, la musique aussi. Mais le gameplay est vraiment difficile à prendre en main. Et j'ai eu du mal à comprendre le but.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:26pm

I like the idea, but it's a bit confusing in its current state. I'm not entirely sure what the red bar in the corner is, and a couple of times it changed which level I was on but I'm not sure if I'd won or lost.

The atmosphere really worked though - it felt sinister. The controls are difficult, which isn't necessarily a bad thing as they made things more challenging. A good effort!

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Can't play windows games, so I can't rate.

drinkadriu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Great game I love it and..SHADOWS

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]