Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Seedball

by onilink_ - Compo Entry

Seedball is a puzzle game with few rules:
-the ball follow the walls
-the ball go straight ahead on a one block hole on a rectilinear path
-you need to grow grass on all the grounds

Gameplay gif demo:
http://www.hapshack.com/images/nytp8.gif

Edit:
Web port with emscripten
Can be slow on old computers, and the screen tutorial is missing (mouse left=move, mouse right=flower power)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#26Innovation4.16
#59Theme4.29
#83Overall3.87
#153Graphics3.84
#178Fun3.61

Comments

RoseOwnage says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Love the artstyle, beatiful, yet simplistic. Goodjob on that!

onilink_ says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Thank you!

mackthehobbit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:02am

Tricky, but unique puzzle game. I liked the art!

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:04am

nice puzzle game good work

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:26am

Controls are a bit hard to manage. Loved the art though

Provocator says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:36am

Good puzzle game! Nice art, I like it!

Niphram says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:59am

Really cool, but alsa really hard to figure it out :)

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Cool game mechanic! The ball was very fast so it was a bit hard to control. Great use of the theme!

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Suits both themes well.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Great game, you've made a tricky puzzle game that has really taken both themes and worked them into something that is a lot more deep than it initially appears.

Only comment I have is when I got trapped the first time it took me a short time to see the reset button in the top left.

Good job.

nexust says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:21pm

I don't enjoy your average puzzle game as much as some, but this is one of those exceptions that comes along every now and then. It takes a few levels to understand the mechanics, as it should. The mechanics are beautifully simple but make for a challenging game!
Due to the way the levels are designed and loaded, a level designer could make for incredible replay value.
The art is delightful, the mechanics are great and it makes for a fantastic game. I do hope you intend to develop this further, I'd be more than interested in playing a fleshed out release!

Juin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:28pm

The concept was a bit hard to understand, but other than that great work!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Great game ! Very interesting mecanics and smart level design, I ragequitted after some levels... I was stuck with no remorse and felt frustrated but I will play it again when i'll have a brain available :)
Good job !

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Yeah! That's a cool puzzle game! Interesting mechanics! I really had to think in some levels! Love it!

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35am

Cool little puzzle game, very original! Nice progression of difficulty that let me learn the rules without much instruction.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:52am

Man, i loved the game. Its so simple, yet full of fun!

Yvanor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Good little puzzle game, simple and clever. Nice use of the both theme, good work ^^

knason says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:00pm

I loved it, the controls, the graphics, the puzzles, easy at the begining and harder later on. Good job!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Simple game and I liked it alot when the ball did what I thought it was gonna do.

thedashdude says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Nice game, but the kind that would benefit greatly from relaxing music and controls that were limited to two buttons. You should make music and put this on the app store.

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Very cool puzzler. Impressed by its simplicity and design.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Simple, but clean graphics!
Gameplay nicely fits the theme, but sometimes the ball won't go where I think it should.

danbolt says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:32am

Really good stuff! Kudos for writing an Emscripten port as well. OS/X users like me really appreciate it!

I didn't understand how to use the white-flowered plants, but figuring out how to change directions to cover the most ground was neat. Understanding how exactly I was going to jump or change floors was a bit of a challenge at first, but I found that playing with it usually gave me the results I wanted.

Thanks for the upload! Super cool!

demogorgon says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:26pm

Mindblowingly simple. I love it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]