Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Shoot Or Don't Shoot

by Coomzy - Compo Entry

Shoot or Don't Shoot is a Top-Down 2D reaction game. You will walk into a dark room and the room will fade in, you will then have to decided who to kill and who to spare.

Kill anyone with a gun, don't kill people without guns.

Left Mouse Button - Shoot.
Right Mouse Button - Spare.

This is a brief oversimplified description of the game, play it to find out more.

Theme - Two Buttons.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#323Innovation3.40
#498Theme3.71
#519Fun3.11
#529Humor2.27
#544Overall3.16
#618Audio2.24
#756Mood2.52
#841Graphics2.24

Comments

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Awesome concept!

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:25pm

i didn't really find that the mechanics worked for me,i progressed past the first room once and it felt like random chance more than i had made an relevant contribution to why it happened

Reinoso says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Game is interesting, different, control the results of the player. Good idea and picked up the theme. But I had a hard time understanding how to play, even with the instructions .. hehehe

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Good entry; took me a second to figure out the controls, but that's my fault. Haha. Very nice job!

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:26pm

That was very cool. First I actually tried to click at the people but later figured out that wasn't necessary. Tried a few times to get further and further. There's no sound correct?

TheWzzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:27pm

The main mechanic kind of makes it a puzzle game. I was surprised how fun it was once I got rolling.

WolvesOfOdin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Great game, its pretty addictive.

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Cool, really enjoying this although it's hard and it took me a little while to get the hang of how the actual shooting follows on from the choosing who to shoot. The one suggestion I have is that you might remove the timer for the first couple of rooms, or at least slow it down a lot more, giving people a chance to get the hang of things. (You know nobody reads instructions, right?)

Lancey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Great 2 button controls! Really good idea! I liked it a lot

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56pm

I like the idea here a lot. There's something nice about the simplicity of busting down a door, quickly reacting to the situation and then watching the result play out.

I frequently felt confused by why I ran out of time though. Sometimes I thought I was doing a room really quick but I'd just suddenly get shot! Other times it felt like the guys waited ages an I was sure they shoulda killed me. Could maybe do with some indication.

Good job!

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:58pm

I just tried shooting everyone, whoops.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Oops, just looked at the screenshot and realized lack of timer may be a result of my screen resolution maybe?

Coomzy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21pm

If you kill 3 civilians, you'll get shot, that might have been what was killing you if not, it might be a bug :)

Coomzy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Also, there should be sound, however on WebGL it sounded worse. I think the Platform Builds are the better choice to download.

marod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Great game and interesting mechanic. I'm so bad I can even pass the 3 chamber haha

refreshgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Interesting game, good use of colour to make the game tougher, I made it to the second room of 5 characters, but then it was just too quick! Cool :D

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:30am

I like the concept, and it seems like everything works well. Alas, I am too slow to truly shine at this game.

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53am

Cool idea. Tough to play on a laptop, but that's mostly my own fault :) Might be worth adding support for two keyboard buttons as well.

It'd also be cool to get a recognition of the increasing difficulty: maybe a big red countdown timer before "blam blam".

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Fun.
It took an embarassingly high number of retries for me to realise I wasn't selecting targets with the mouse, just LMB or RMB the targets in order.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Loved the idea! Gets hard really fast.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:57pm

I really like the idea and mechanics! Took me a bit to realize that you don't click /on/ the character but merely just the button. It's simple, but I like it.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Kinda reminds me of the old shooters with one screen except in this you don't have option to miss.

Auroz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Fun idea, took a while to work out what was happening though. Maybe point out in the instructions that you need to look which way the player is facing?

mukult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Addicting game!! Neat concept!

Darkflint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Really interessting. Needed one run to understand it and 3 more to see, that there is a timelimit xD

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Nice game.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:04pm

A really good approach of the theme. This game is really addictive. However after the fifth room, it seems to me that it is too hard. I like the minimalist aesthetic. It could be great on mobile device as a casual game. Thank you for your comment about my own project. It was very useful so as to fix some bugs ++

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:24am

Nice game! It did take me a minute to get the controls down. For whatever reason I instinctively thought I was supposed to left/right click the people in the room in whatever order I chose. I didn't realize it picked the order you have to decide. Good work!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Neat take on the theme!
Graphics and sound could have done with some work but good job nonetheless!

Mikhail says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Nice game

Pepejson says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Concept is good however I can't figure out how to play, no matter what I click, I die or I kill everyone.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:35am

Pretty good game. I suck at these kind of games, but it was pretty good for what it is. I think it would be even cooler if the enemies and friendlies were randomly generated.

Wicked7000 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:47pm

The game was awesome, Great Idea for a game! The only real improvements I could suggest is maybe procedural generation as well some better audio and graphics but still really well done the game is very fun and has interesting mechanics Good work!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:03pm

(disclaimer: I don't read instructions, neither do many people - they just want to play right away).

Very tough, I initially thought it was a twitch game, because with a mouse its somewhat misleading - I tried to click the guys with guns as fast as possible, before realising that I was killing everybody in every room... when I realised it was good fun. You should have made the controls Y or N instead, then it would have been clear what was happening.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Wow, this was really innovative! Graphics were a little lack luster, but would love to see this idea taken further.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:22am

Nice entry! Game is simple but challenging. I wish enemy position could be randomized. I managed to finish it and it was fun! Good job ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]