Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Wanderer of the Frozen Wastes

by nassi - Compo Entry

Choose your keys and start wandering.

To run the LÖVE-file you need the LÖVE-binary (https://love2d.org).

Leaving a comment helps me find and play your game ;).

EDIT: The Windows-build is untested. Please mention any problems with it in the comments.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#81Mood3.78
#110Overall3.80
#114Humor3.41
#124Innovation3.79
#148Audio3.47
#224Fun3.52
#274Graphics3.50
#282Theme3.96
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:41am

Oh man that game dev note had me in stitches. I had a lot of fun exploring, and the writing for the artifacts was really good.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:10am

This is so good. I love the ambiance -- the whispering wind and snowy passages -- it really sells itself as a tundra.

And I'm incredibly impressed with how clever you were at getting the player to choose his settings in-game. Good one. Gonna keep exploring. :)

josefnpat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Neat game here. I love the expansive map! I really like the controls and screen size system. Great job!

Peekotus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:04pm

The ambience and mood is really good

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Probably the most solid take on a two button movement system I've seen yet. You can move around so fluidly even with this limitation! Rest of the game is nice but ultimately lacks a bit of interesting stuff to find beyond descriptions. Hope you'll expand upon it in the future!

Btw, you can distribute your game as an executable when using LÖVE: https://www.love2d.org/wiki/Game_Distribution. Makes it a lot easier for folks!

nassi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Thanks for the encouraging comments everyone! I know there ain't much by the way of gameplay, but I hope you all will get at least a few minutes of excitement and wonder out of it.

@Clavus: Didn't realize I could build the windows executable on Linux. Been putting it off while thinking that I'll make one the next time I boot into windows. Thanks for making me review the link ;).

Pitʶik4 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:39am

I love the movement system. It's unlike anything I've seen before, and it really makes me feel like a ninja being able to pull off such cool maneuvers with just two buttons.

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:01pm

I really games like this where the player just wanders about and discovers things about their surroundings. I had a fun time walking about. I didn't get all the treasure items, but I got maybe 10ish. Anyway, the movement was amazing. It felt extremely fluid, and it was an interesting challenge to move about. Also, I liked the humor in this game. I didn't get to see every joke, but I did like the ones that I saw.

My critiques for this game would be focused on the graphics. I really liked the player animations, however, I felt that the game as a whole wasn't as colorful as I would have liked. The player was red/black. The background was gray, and the snow appeared to be white with a reddish tint. The only color which really stood out in this game was the blue of the treasure. I really wish that there were some more colors along the way to make the environment look more interesting.
Good job overall!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:08pm

I really liked letting the player choose their own left/right keys, that was a nice touch. The use of momentum through climbing was pretty cool, too. A nice, mellow explorer platformer, well done!

monetai says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:29pm

I really liked that one, it's good, i've got nothing else to say

acotis says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Wow! I love the control-setting mechanic at the start. Throughout the game I slowly got better at making various jumps with the climbing thing. Probably half of the hour or so I spent playing this was just me trying to find the last box, which ended up being the one in the VERY top left corner that I hadn't spotted at first.

Excellent game :)

miwuc says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Clever entry! The mechanics seem really simple at first, but after playing a few minutes you realize you have more freedom of movement than you thought, thanks to momentum. The settings at the beginning are genius, and I also liked the character's animations. That being said, I didn't feel motivated enough to spend hours looking for all the treasures.

SamH says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:50pm

I have a hunch that I should have written down where I found each artifact, because I have no idea which ones I’m missing now and it’s very tedious to revisit all of them, since they remain visually unchanged after visiting :-(

Apart from that, the mechanics are very well thought and tuned, wall collisions and inertia are a bit frustrating at times, but in general it’s very fun to play. I suggest having a mini-map, or a radar, or just a simple arrow at the edge of the screen indicating the general direction of the nearest artifact.

The writing style is also pleasant, and using Löve makes the game Linux-friendly, so thanks for that, too.

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Good job. felt very retro and I liked the little descriptions of items.

TheWzzard says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:45pm

probably the best side-scrolling navigation with 2 buttons that I've seen, super natural, nice acceleration

drinkadriu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:08pm

This is pretty fun and I like it

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:26pm

On Windows 10 with Love version 0.10.0 I get the following warning:
"This game indicates it was made for version '0.9.2' of LOVE. It may not be compatible with the running version(0.10.0)"

Then the window open with the following error:
boot.lua:397: Invalid fullscreen type: normal

Skaz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:34am

Really nice entry! Didn't found all the capsules, but you manage to make a nice navigation with no jumping button. Nice pixel art :)

As for the LOVE version, your game requires the 0.9.2, I had to dig on the love site to find it, here is a link to the page for the others: https://bitbucket.org/rude/love/downloads

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:25pm

@Skaz Thank you! The .exe still didn't work but I was able to execute the .love

Pro:
+ Great graphics and audio, giving a great mood
+ Cool concept
+ Awesome mechanics
Obs:
o I couldn't finish because I got lost, maybe because the map is too big or no navigation system? But exploration was still nice

Awesome job!

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:51pm

* I'll try it again later, maybe with the map xp

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]