Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Artifact

by nunesbarbosa - Compo Entry

PLAY ON FULL SCREEN OR THE BUTTONS WON'T SHOW! - Thanks! ;)

You fell into a cave and found a weird artifact but there are only two buttons on the panel!

Can you escape the cave in this mini metroidvania style?

----

Check the post LD version here: http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/667902

Timelapse: https://youtu.be/eT1EG3Fhw9Y
Walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LJgULzqXnjY

Made using Unity 3D v5.3
SFX made with SFXR, Music composed with cgMusic.
Art made by pencil and paper, edited on Gimp 2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#155Audio3.44
#247Graphics3.57
#284Mood3.27
#287Innovation3.46
#331Theme3.91
#352Overall3.39
#433Humor2.46
#434Fun3.22

Comments

Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:58pm

I really would like to test your game, but it crashed. ( Maybe because I use Linux, so everything could be 'fine'. It's just that I could play other games with Unity-WebGL. )

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:21am

Good job! I played this through the web player on this site. I liked your graphics and the changing buttons. Your audio was also good. Good luck!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:25am

Great! I had to switch to fullscreen because one of the buttons was out of the window bounds. Nice work. :D

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:36am

Control Mechanics is interesting, and pen and paper platformer is always a funny thing =) Unfortunately, i've spent like 15 minutes figuring out how to get through that dark gray wall blocking the path - with no success.

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:41am

The game crashed, but the concept is good, as well as the graphic and atmosphere.

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:43am

I loved the graphics

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45am

Neat idea, love the art style, got stuck early on and couldn't reach the gold thing below the dark grey wall.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:46am

I really enjoyed this game :D

such a simple minimalistic art style yet it works

i loved how you used the two button controlls really nice

as for humor ye it lacked any funny moments or sarcasm so i didnt know what to put for that but overall i liked the game and will check out any other games you got :)

im also very interested in how u got webgl working so if you could get in touch that would be great :)

thecord says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:47am

Interesting mechanics and awesome graphics style. The upper button is a bit out of bounds.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:56am

For those who got stuck, you have to burn the vines to get the upgrade. Then use the upgrade to fly left through the ceiling to get the other upgrade.

The wall can be broke with enough speed (after the 2nd upgrade). ;)

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Really good entry. I like your graphics style and the way you literally used two buttons for controls.

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Very good game with nice graphics and gameplay!

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:05pm

I really like the hand drawn art.

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Good start to a physics-y puzzle game. I liked the evolving functions of the buttons.

JD557 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Awesome game... It's a shame that it's so short.

I really enjoyed the art style, it's gorgeous. The background is a little pixelated, but I think that's ok.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Great entry. Nice use of the two buttons theme.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:40pm

The whole feel of the game is pretty great, plus the two buttons that evolve is rather novel! Such a pity it's so short...

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:13pm

awesome game, very creative and cool concept, nice use of physics, love the graphics and atmosphere, well done!

Reinoso says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:17pm

The game has a really cool idea, the physics is interesting. I had fun. The problem is that I could not get the blue gem. It was hard to go back to pick her up. But you spread very well the theme and art is quite different, I liked. The music of a sense of trance, makes contrast with the design that is generated in your game, good choice and sounds work well with response time for interactions. Nice.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:30pm

You've chosen a nice style! Audio is also very good.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Great little game, and one of the most interesting implementation of the 2-button theme i've seen. Nice work around for only going in 1 direction using the slopes to roll back, although it can be a bit fiddly to do right. Feels nice when you get boost upgrade and it's suddenly feels much easier to move! Art style was also nice.

danbolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:14am

Fun stuff! I liked how the powers changed as I progressed. It was cool seeing game art that had been scanned from graph paper like that, too. I would have been tempted to add more shading if I was in your shoes, but using colour to show relevant things like powerups and effects was smart.

Audio was good too!

davisan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Great game, nice use of the theme. but very short. It'll be a good mobile game.

fergarram says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:56am

oops it crashed
os: Windows 8.1

kmakai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Cool idea, and well done. Great job with the music as well. It would be fun to see some more levels as the buttons' functions change! Effective art style as well, it stands out among other entries.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:00pm

The music is really good! Especially the end-music. Very cool concept, it's sort of a puzzle-platformer, which I really like.
Well done!!

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:39pm

One day I will try this hand drawn art style, it has the potential to work really well, as it does here... Good work...!

I liked the changing buttons, a good way to keep to the theme...
Shame there is not more to the game...

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Control Mechanics is interesting, and pen and paper platformer is funny. This aesthetic is really original. Great ++

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:43am

Greate sketch design for your game. I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:53am

Great idea for controller. I liked your art. Well done.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Great job. Love the premises of the changing button. The game left me wishing there was more of it.

amYk777 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:56am

Controls were frustrating. I kept wanting to go back to pick up what I missed and explore, but the game didn't allow for that even though I was supposed to get that green dot thing. "Artifact" had no explanation. It was a ball.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:25am

Your game has a really nice mood, thanks to the combination of your art and audio. Also, the idea to discover actual buttons in game to change your controls is a good interpretation of the theme.

Well done, sir!

zatch says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Really love your paper drawing art style and music. Great little bit of gameplay! Not sure I would be able to sit through an entire puzzler like this, but if it turned out to be more of an adventure game I'd love to see something larger!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Nice music! I like the graphical style, very original. The gameplay looks interesting, but I ended up getting stuck after bruning the first few branches, I seem to be unable to climb to the yellow sphere. The controls are kinds frustrating after a while.

fxtagn says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Cool hand-drawn graphics and interpretation of the theme. Sound is well for the mysterious mood!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:13am

TO ANYONE RATING THIS GAME THROUGH THE WEB VERSION: you do not gain enough momentum when you use the Unity fullscreen button! You have to use the Ludum Dare fullscreen button! Frustrated me for quite a while when I couldn't get the yellow orb...

Anyhow, I could see that this game had potential given the nice graphics and two-button upgrading movement mechanic. Good effort and hope to see you around next time!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:55am

I really liked this game. I would've liked to have seen keyboard controls as well, as some parts were a bit unnecessarily tough without them. Could be a bit more challenging. I really loved the art style and the presentation, however. Great work!

23 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:51am

It seems like you had some good ideas here but there are a few bugs that make it hard to enjoy...

The music and graph paper aesthitic work really well, it's nice how you tied them together.

Not a serious issue but right click works strangely, might want to look at that.

After getting the yellow upgrade I could not get out of the pit , I seemed to only be able to fly when moving left or something. I tried the web and Windows versions and had the same issue.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Wow. An amasing art!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Good work, I got to the end, wish it longer - I would probably pay a small amount of money for a longer version of this.

Farelle says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:12pm

very interesting game and even though I wished some of the backgrounds would have been more distinctive from the foreground(different brightness) I was impressed by using crosspaper to make the game graphics :D and in overall the controls were very interesting too, keeping to the two button controls but giving more and more options how to use them over time (or more advanced)

LuckiiGoggy says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Great game! It's fun and entertaining interesting way of going about the two-buttons. I liked how the character responds to the new power-ups to describe what's going inside the orb. Good luck!

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:55pm

The hand drawn pen and paper style is pretty well done in this. The idea of having powerups change the second button control is a nice way to add a bit more variety to a theme that might limit that sort of thing. Good music too.

NecroMac says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Wow, Great aesthetics and it was quite clever to evolve buttons mechanics mid game.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:10pm

I like the use of more mass = more force.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Sorry. ^above comment^ was meant for a different game. This game is cool too though. I like the hand drawn style.

monetai says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:43pm

colorfull for sure

Gornova says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:31pm

one of the best graphics, best and polished entry of this LD34. Well done! It's only a demo, but I really appreciate the feeling and the mood!

piper82 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:49pm

i was really sad there wasnt more. excellent take on a theme.

Garris says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:06am

I really love this game as a concept. The control scheme was cool, and the graphical style is really eye-catching. I think the game would benefit most from being longer. You've got the setup for a great adventure and it ends so quickly. Such is Ludum Dare, but I'd love to see this as a full adventure.

lawendt says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:29am

Great job doing it in a compo, loved the upgrades. Keep up with the great work!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:30pm

good hand drawn art! but audio is so too loud. nice game in total :)

Reggianito says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Something like this minus the physics was my original idea for the jam. I'm glad to see it being real. Loved the music and the sounds, the graphics were an interesting choice, the level design could have allowed to build up speed to the left faster, but otherwise it was a sweet (and short) experience.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:38am

Really unique and nice art style. I'd love to see more of this!

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:52am

I like this game very much. It took me to my childhood when i've played with paper and pencil. Great job!

banana4life says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:41am

Beautiful art style, fitting sound and clever level design. I can really see how you can expand on this idea, add more levels, more challenges...

Not sure if intentional but: An alternate keyboard control would be immensely helpful - clicking those two buttons was a bit uncomfortable.

Guard13007 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:45am

Loved it! Made me think of Rock of Ages. :P

vitorlanna says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:02am

As much as I tried, I could never get enough momentum to get the yellow thing in the windows version.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Damn good, but short.

Putting the little paper person in the ball and having that small amount of dialogue about the buttons really gave this paper world some character and a sense of scale too. Nice touch.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Nice entry! Art style is refreshing! I wish it could be longer. Good job ;)

Big Cow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:10pm

I was very impressed with this. I like the transition to the sphere where the buttons appear, the limited buttons used to make kind of puzzles (that were not too frustrating) and the upgrade element is really satisfying. The exploration element is great too. The ball hits things with an awesome shake and sound. The music gives a sense of awe and mystery. Overall I think its great! Well done.

themadknights says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:29pm

Sound, art and the idea is awesome. Good luck in the final score, you did great

Krafty says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:31am

This game was interesting, but I'm not sure how I feel about the graphics. Still, nice job! :)

Mar 28, 2016 @ 9:37pm

I like the graphics, but I couldnt get up the hill. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/BZOhspy6Kt8

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]