Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Litterlings

by Yazara - Compo Entry

Litterlings are a species living on a waste asteroid in space.
They jump around, fall in love and have babies but can also get depressed and commit suicide when their lover dies.
You're in charge of dumping trash on their asteroid, be careful not to hit them so that their family can grow as big as possible!

Controls:
Mouse Click/ Space/ Gamepad A to drop litter
Backspace/ Gamepad Back to restart

I used:
Unity 5
Photoshop
Bfxr
Audiosauna
Pixel Noir Font by Mirz123

---- Post Compo ----
- added Start Screen
- added losing condition (drop below 25-40% of your highscore)
- added Game Over Screen with stats
- improved exploitable max height


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#143Innovation3.74
#179Humor3.11
#307Mood3.23
#320Overall3.44
#344Fun3.33
#386Graphics3.28
#468Audio2.65
#534Theme3.67

Comments

Maxom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28pm

I love rabbits

recursor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:47pm

At first I was trying to kill the little buggers ... but then I read the instructions. I enjoyed dumping trash on a lower life form's planet. Who knows, maybe we will be doing that for real in the future.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Great concept. The art style is quite simple, but i found it very very cool :o

davesoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Awesome concept, well executed :D

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Nice game!! A lot of love in that planet :3

Team Tree says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Spamming the game is fun too! :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:53pm

interesting concept, very creative, well done :)

adsilcott says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:13am

I skipped the instructions and ended up with a huge colony of litterlings anyway. I liked looking down on their little lives, although its funny that I'm both looking out for them and dropping trash on them. Cute game!

blohod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:15am

So cute, shame I was so bad at it and kept killing them, nice ans simple but fun.

andyman404 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16am

I love it! Thank you for making Litterlings!

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:19pm

The idea is very charming! I started by killing them all though before realising it wans't actually the goal.
I like the tamagotchi-like feel of your game

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:45am

On my first gameplay I just started killing as many aliens as possible... And then I read the instructions :) Congrats on making a one-button game lol. Pretty fun!! and challenging once I actually tried to preserve the little men! Very original entry. Nice job

Leuthil says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:18am

I was doing so well until I accidentally dropped a green atomic nuke onto a family of litterlings. This game is strangely amusing even though there isn't really a win condition. Very charming game.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:30am

:D awesome man i love ur idea good game looks pretty neat to me :)
Great job well done

EwChap says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Once I realized not to kill those guys, i got it. Very interesting and unique concept. Great work.

Garris says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:23am

This was incredibly charming and took me completely by surprise. I wasn't really sure what the draw was at first, and then I accidentally killed my first litterling. NEVER AGAIN! D: Really, this was great and I'd love to see the concept explored further.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Just a heads up: Unity Web-Player does not work for Linux, so labeling it Web is kinda misleading. I would highly appreciate a Linux or WebGL build.

Yazara says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:39am

Thank you everyone for the feedback! :)
And @klianc09, thank you for pointing this out, I will add a webGL build today and chnaged the labeling.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:38am

This is a clever and polished little toy, unique as far as the entries I've played go. Tamagotchi vibes. The zoom-out is cool.

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:32am

Really enjoyed it!

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Cool! Very likeable inhabitants. Nice execution with the builing and destroying.

Jan 16, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Really cute, fun game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/jZIKMICuSkI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]