Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

net_forget

by Os_Reboot - Compo Entry

»Description«
Grow a botnet (https://www.techopedia.com/definition/384/botnet) by solving cypher logic puzzles and infecting computers.
["Growing" theme, not "Two Button Controls"]

»Logic Gates«
[□] → Creates a signal regardless of input.
[■] → Blocks the input signal.
[≈] → Inverts the input signal.

»Controls«
[Mouse] → All things game related.
[ESC] → Return to the main menu from a level.
[M] → Mute all audio (some sound clips will take a few seconds to finish).

»Programs«
[Java] → Programming Language
[Eclipse] → IDE
[LWJGL 2.0] → Engine
[Ridhvl] → Engine (https://github.com/osreboot/Ridhvl)
[GIMP] → Art
[Bfxr] → Sound
[Audacity] → Sound
[Jarsplice] → Packaging

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#49Innovation4.00
#89Mood3.75
#184Fun3.60
#208Graphics3.67
#227Overall3.58
#420Audio2.76
#873Theme3.03

Comments

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:40am

Puzzles are very satisfying. Interesting changes on the mechanics. Awesome work! Btw, start texts can be shorten.

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:33pm

A very interesting reflexion game, puzzle are well done and hard, the graphics ars immersive and quite good.
I enjoyed it =)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Really nice graphics, great gameplay. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/BarqoQ2BpLQ

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:13pm

loved it:) the idea of using logic-gate for the puzzles is very welcome, really enjoyed the puzzles once the not-gate got introduced. the ambiance and general theme was really nice too, the only real gripe I could make was that I couldn't find a way to skip dialog and the connection to the theme is a little tenuous too. Other than that, it's real solid, really well made :D

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:52pm

I like puzzle games so loved this :) however the themes i did not get that but still was good fun :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:41am

This was really cool! Very interesting puzzles and storyline. I was a little disappointed by the ending.

mappel6 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:41am

Wow. This is nice.

Simple and effective, that's all I have to say about this one. The puzzles are interesting and--while they can be bruteforced--it's much more enjoyable if you pay close attention and solve the puzzles like they're meant to be solved.

I think there could be some background music, though. Maybe something ominous to make it feel like the work is very important, and if you fail, then it really is game over for you.

You, sir, just earned 4 stars and a follower on Twitter. Keep it up.

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:33am

Nice mood rendering and well designed puzzles. But somehow it feels too constrained. Maybe I'm the only one having this feeling.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:58am

Nice! Enjoyed it.
Text (font) is painfull to read =(

reheated says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:26am

Nice puzzles, I really enjoyed the presentation.

Kep says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Very well done cohesive design. Mood 5/5.
I liked it, but it was very short. If you can figure out a way to randomly generate levels given a difficulty value, that would be great.
Thanks for the game!

Mikhail says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Nice game

Cosmic5 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:08pm

neat little puzzle game. Would love some very light music in the background just to keep things interesting.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:44am

Enjoyable experience, but very easy. Never once got stumped, and was able to finish most puzzles in a minute or less.

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:03am

nice puzzle, interesting story

psychomonster says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:21am

It Simple: Nice Idea, nice puzzle design and a really nice presentation.... +1 for mood :) Bute the game would be much better with some ambient sounds or music.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:50am

clever!

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:48am

Was very fun!

The only problem I had was that it was a little difficult to remember which gates were which, but I'm not sure if that's just because I'm rushing through games so fast or not. :/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]