Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hedgie The Explorer

by Caspila - Jam Entry

Help Hedgie to reach the treasure in the end of each level.

"Hedgie, The Explorer" is a runner in which the players must jump (SPACEBAR) and use their hook (L-SHIFT) in the right moment to complete the levels.

Controls:
SPACEBAR: jump / release hook
L-SHIFT: throw hook

---
Credits:
Ashley Yoon: Art
Guilherme Cunha: Programming

Special Thanks to:
joshuaempyre: Background music
---

We were able to make 6 levels for the Ludum Dare this time, though we wanted to have more. Let us know what you think.

ps: Some people reported problems when playing in full screen mode. If that happens to you, please tick the windowed mode box in the launcher
ps: Due to HMTL5 issues/compatibility issues between browser, the least recommended version is the Web one. Grab the executables and experience the game to its fullest :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#137Theme(Jam)4.13
#138Overall(Jam)3.78
#161Fun(Jam)3.65
#176Graphics(Jam)4.08
#263Humor(Jam)3.16
#341Mood(Jam)3.43
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

nevet says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:11am

I LOVE IT!! GO HEDGIE!

AuthorX says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:29am

Cute and fun! A nice autorunner. However, I had some confusion at first because the right-shift key was not activating the hook.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:42am

I had fun with this! It was cool to try to get every berry in the level. I did have trouble with the level that has steps, but I figured out the solution eventually. Nice work! Thanks for sharing and congrats on finishing!

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:28am

This game was really fun, and super cute! Nice music, and the graphics were really good!

ninjascript says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:58am

The web versions controls are a little mushy, but I love the theme and the level design is good. Great job!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:30am

Wow, really nice and clean graphicg!

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:31am

Really cute game! I love the graphics. I wished there was a sound when collecting the strawberries and the checkpoints were a bit too frequent. Great game though! =D

Shivur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:31am

Very cute game.

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:43am

really cute art, and fun little game, thanks for having a checkpoint system too hah.

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Go Sanic! I mean... Hedgie. I completed the game. Nice entry.

Muel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:47pm

GOTTA GO F... ahem...

Nice work =)
The graphics are well done, and the hook mechanic too. Also, I really liked the "jump and become a ball" touch ^^

Gostei.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:56pm

I liked graphics the most but I think especially for a jam entry it's quite short. Another problem was that it wasn't challenging enough but I guess that's also because of the length. There could be more challenging levels later on. Mechanics are not so original I'm sorry but this could be a mobile game and maybe even a popular one.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:48am

Awesome music! Encountered a few bugs with the hook shot staying out or freezing the player at the edges of platforms. Love the art and idea!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]