Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Star Control

by Tortoise - Jam Entry

Left and Right arrows or A and D to move.
Defeat the space things!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#325Theme(Jam)3.88
#431Audio(Jam)3.17
#533Overall(Jam)3.31
#542Fun(Jam)3.13
#575Graphics(Jam)3.33

Comments

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:14am

An Ilwrath, Umgah, and Supox walk into a bar...

Name aside, the game's actually pretty fun, I wish there were some explosions after killing ships, the bomb upgrade seems slightly too short of range and doesn't offer a lot of coverage with it's explosions against the homing missiles and machine gun. Pretty fun actually, surprised this hasn't got a review yet, hopefully more check this out soon :).

Firellon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:23am

Nice game, but it actually lack new ideas.

Paul Sinnett says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:19pm

I loved the use of auto fire to allow the simple control. Nice sprites and music too. Flying into the start button to start the game was a nice touch.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Interesting game, but too difficult

jackrugile says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Hey, I had fun playing your game. I love the art and audio style. The homing missiles were super satisfying.

The difficulty does ramp up pretty fast since your starting weapon is so weak, you can't move fast, and the enemies can dash across the screen. That could just be my opinion, but the difficulty pacing felt weird.

Other than that, I'd love to see an indicator that an enemy is getting hit. Even just a flash of white or something like that. As I am dodging enemy bullets, it's hard to tell if I am hitting anything or not without an indicator in my peripheral vision.

Anyway, it's a solid space shooter and I had fun. Nice work!

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:30pm

The music and graphics are great. However, I think it would be a lot better if the player's bullets were MUCH bigger. The fact that the enemies' bullets are bigger than mine makes them feel more special than me. Having small bullets also means that enemies are harder to hit and, indeed, I end up getting swarmed very quickly.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Simple and fun.

Aaranos says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:34am

I like the genre of space shooters but not being able to move forward of backward limits the ships ability to dodge anything. I found myself stuck in a corner and then blasted down just about every game.

I think given a different theme it would of done much better, as the other gameplay elements are great.

Paco says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:20am

That name... brings so many memories...
I like the powerups logic, and how you kind of "level designes"-ish with what you had... Also the difficulty scalated quickly

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:47am

Everything works smoothly, cleanly implemented, and the graphics, audio, controls, and such all felt consistent. But boy does it get difficult quickly!

Given that enemy bullets can come in at angles, but movement is limited to a single line for obvious reasons, dodging feels like it could use some assistance. Faster ship movement, perhaps acceleration, double tap for a "dash" or popping up a half second directed shield or something. Faster player bullets too, as a compensation for the fact that they can't be angled to aim directly at enemies the way enemies can do at the player.

Also, I wasn't expecting the powerups to be time-limited (and at first didn't notice the expiring icon at the bottom because I wasn't looking for it). Maybe it's just because of my expectations from similar games, but I kinda felt a little cheated when my machine guns ran out. I want powerups that I can feel like I earned, and then I want to be able to keep them if I earned them.

Gordy says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:38am

Good ! ;)

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:40am

Space shooters never die. It's a difficult game but a solid entry. You've done a good job

publicidadeba says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:14pm

I loved it! It you made it procedurally generated level and more types of weapons it would be a BOMB on the mobiles stores!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]