Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dangerous Harvest

by nelskj - Jam Entry

Hello we are a duo of friends, me as a programmer and my friend as a graphist.

Dangerous Harvest is a plateform game where you are chased by a monster and
you pick up food for avoid the monster to feed and grow.

We're not used to work on such a project together so it was an interesting experience and we hope you'll like our game.
Well it miss some music but we're not really good at make it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#568Humor(Jam)2.56
#594Graphics(Jam)3.30
#804Theme(Jam)3.30
#829Fun(Jam)2.74
#856Mood(Jam)2.67
#880Overall(Jam)2.88
#1017Innovation(Jam)2.09
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

cescababs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37pm

I love it.... particularly the death scream, which made me chuckle.... love the hand drawn styling and the increasing and decreasing speed depending on food.....a keeper gonna play again...

kmakai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Fitting use of the theme, and I like the art style a lot (it definitely caught my eye in the thumbnail!) Good job!

sorle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:59pm

best part for me are the graphics. I like that conceptart style a lot. but why do the windmill look so out of place?
sadly the random spawning froots led me to fall of the plattforms

nelskj says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:36am

Thanks for your comments all, we appreciate it! :-)

sorle — Sadly, not the time to finish it (as other things). :/

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16am

Good theme use, and the death scream was funny. I liked the artwork and the controls were responsive!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16am

Death scream gets annoying after a while, other than that - great fun.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:13am

Very fitting use of the theme! Graphics are fairly good as well.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:01pm

The randomization made it impossible to get some food or avoid some mushrooms, but I dig the art.

eerongal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:26am

A pretty decent little auto runner.

beetracks says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:27am

There is no music when the game is restarted. The animation could be a little better in my opinion. If you increase a little the speed of the running cycle I think it would be better. I like the art of the game. The illustration is great.

Thembi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:32am

Out of curiosity, I left it running overnight. The monster can grow big enough so that all you can see of him is a tongue and teeth and he eats fruit before it even shows up on the screen, haha.

Dexyne says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Thanks for the last comments! :-) (here the graphist)

justinooncx — Yeah, we need to work on that part, but well, not enough time to fix that during the LD.

beetracks — Like many things, not the time to make something better but thanks.

Thembi — Haha! The growth of the monster is a bit slow and we didn't set a max size for him! =D

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Nice art style! Would love to see what it'd look like if you got some more time on it.
Well presented all round good job :)

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:28am

Quite fun, but it had a couple of issues here and there. The purple mushrooms were often unavoidable, and sliding would scroll the page down in my browser. Loved the art though, and the game was very good overall!

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:30am

That monster was nightmare fuel! Unique artwork, really stood out.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:37am

The graphics on the game look really good. There are some gameplay issues though that make the game difficult to play. First, the ducking action has a significant pause before the action, making it difficult to use (either it doesn't duck until after the obstacle hits the player or the duck is delayed to the point there I fall off the platform). Jump doesn't have this problem, so I'm not sure why the delay occurs.

Second, at least in my experience, nearly every purple mushroom appeared at a location where I was forced to jump into the mushroom or fall, so I had to hit the purple mushrooms. This was a bit frustrating.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Nice little game. Congrats

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]