Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Boo's Adventure

by JLET - Compo Entry

Theme : Two button controls
You control an hamster in a orange ball named Boo who decided to start an new adventure.
I recommend to use firefox, chrome works too but the image is truncate in full screen.
Every Comment are welcome.
Hope you enjoy and have fun !

This game was fully developed with the following tools :
- Unity 5.3
- Visual Studio Community 2015
- Gimp 2.8.10
- Renoise 3.0.1
- Sfrx

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#261Humor2.86
#380Fun3.29
#490Innovation3.14
#546Theme3.65
#598Mood2.80
#661Audio2.02
#704Overall2.98
#766Graphics2.50

Comments

Zarkith says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Instantly losing the second you go off the top of the screen made a few of the later levels a chore to beat.
It makes getting the right angles unnecessarily precise, especially on level 9.

At least the physics were consistent though. I never had to deal any wonky or unexpected behavior, so kudos for that.

seththefirst says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:39pm

I liked the concept.
Very nice implementation with Physiscs. =)

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Very fun! Poor Boo probably has a headache after how many tries it took me to beat each level.

For some reason I didn't hear any sfx or music, despite you mentioning having used Sfrx. I was playing via web on a Mac. I didn't rate you on audio, since I wasn't able to judge it!

JLET says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00pm

KoalaBot, there should be music in the mainmenu and in the end screen and sfx in levels. I didn't test on mac but sound work for me on firefox and chrome.

TheWzzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:17pm

A count down at the start of each try is really all this needs to have a smoother experience.

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:23pm

dong-dung-dong, great job, i had lots of fun playing that game.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Great entry! Beat the game, last level was a fluke. Making the jumping panels more visible would help.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Fun game, but I couldn't progress any further than level 8 unfortunately. Good job :D

Haighstrom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:29pm

A fun little physics-y game! I liked it.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Nice little game.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:31pm

very nice little game. more animations on the hamster would have made this game more interesting.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:31pm

This is a silly game, and I found it hilarious :)

Got stuck on level 8 though.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Insanely fun. That "one more try" syndrome in full effect! I ended being late to work because I told myself I'd just vote for a few games, and ended up playing this all morning.

I found myself wanting to hit Left Arrow to move left at first (even though I saw the instructions).

Overall, a really fun game! Well done! Can you call my boss and tell him why I was late this morning? =p

mlepage says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Neat. Reminds me of Armadillo Run.

At first I thought you had to accelerate in the direction you are travelling, but it's always right, even if you go left, that threw me for a loop.

Maybe put a reminder onscreen for R to reset, at least for the first few levels. And I agree with others, some countdown timer might be nice.

I got stuck on one level. But it was fun.

tanjent says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Man what a solid idea! Great take on 2 button controls. The repetitive sound FX got a bit annoying after a few minutes, so it could have been fun with different sounds if you hit the paddles with a strong/weak force. Beat the game - 1Ö represent! Some extra polish with the framing/on screen info and a check if you are stuck in a curved slide would have been a bonus. Anyway, I see this concept can easily be expanded and more obstacles added. Add some IAP and you'll rake in the £, $ and €'s ... :D

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Oh dear the hamster has got a really hard job in this game. hah. But the puzzle design is really good and funny. +1 for main character and +1 for puzzles. You need to give this poor little guy a cool voice... Some kind of "oh damn!"! or "yeah" :D

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Fun game, easy and fun to play.

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:43am

It was simple and short, but fun, I finished the game.

2pae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51am

This is the game thai i played more,very moody, thx for the game, i will play more times,sure!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Cool game. I've never seen this precise type of physics game. It could use some polish, but the idea is solid.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Fun game! It was very rewarding when I was finally able to hit the goal on some of the harder levels.

Eikinel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:00pm

http://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2015/51/1450288753-win.png

Yeeeee :D ! Nice physics bro ! It was fun :)

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:36am

Ok I made it to level 8 I'm proud, this is a great game for the 2 button controls theme!!

It only lacks a bit of graphics and smooth but this is really cool :p

(hello d'indiemag ;) )

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:59pm

funny personge)

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:51pm

I like the game, level 9 was extremely difficult though.

loxo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Nice game concept. It's very challenging and I reached only level 10 before I gave up.

piper82 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:15pm

nice entry, some polish and you got a neat little game there.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:22pm

WOW! This is extremely similar to the game I made! Just with much much easier levels(I also had 10 levels) and ear piercing SFX. And I thought I was being innovative...
Any more review than that would be too subjective.
Do you plan to further develop this?
BTW, here is a link to mine: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=40141

JLET says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Ga

JLET says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:35pm

GameDevExtreme I have rated your game 1 hour ago, i didn't pass the level 5, it's too hard for me to focus on 2 things at the same time :(. your game is similar of mine but your is harder than mine and i think you lacked of time. Anyway you did a very good job in only 3 hours.

monetai says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:54pm

i got stuck in level 8, physics are too fast for my taste, it makes the game look like it plays itself

crucknuk says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Nice entry. I wish the music did not stop once I started playing. Dosing your speed is quite hard, but I think the concept is interesting. Good job ;)

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Cute little physics game, short enough runs to try and repeat a lot! :) Got to level 10ish

cudabear says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:46pm

A nice little physics puzzler. The pace of the game is a bit too fast, the hamster flies around the screen too fast to really react to anything. It would be nice if you could fly off the top of the screen without dying, as well. nice entry!

brainstorm says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Haha not a bad game, but the controls feels a bit unresponsible (at least for me) and the springs bounce directions are a bit weird.

3/5

Wakefield says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Good and fun game! clever level implementation and nice physics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]