Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Mower

by jachepe - Compo Entry

The garden has been infected with something and the plants GROW faster. You drive a mower to cut the bad plants!

TWO button controls:

- Left Arrow: left
- Right Arrow: right

This game is made with Unity and the graphics with Paint.net (and megadrive color palette). Music with Beatlab and sfx with Bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#476Humor2.37
#509Audio2.58
#526Graphics3.00
#546Theme3.65
#579Mood2.82
#653Fun2.92
#658Overall3.03
#778Innovation2.60

Comments

laFunk says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:44pm

3 runs, best score: 73! I tried to cut the big mutant plant, but I died everytime before I could make it U_U
Good work!

markoburzan27 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:08pm

cool

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:02am

A really fun game and I loved the graphics, but the bombs didn't seem to do anything.

tayl1r says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:30pm

The bombs tank your time!

I scored 99. Cool game that uses both themes.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Cool game idea!

WolvesOfOdin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Great game.

Harsay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Score: 77
Fun simple game. Didn't expect THAT plant :D

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:31pm

3 runs too, best score also 73. Got to say, it's rather cool how you put some effort into a seamless presentation, with that menu screen animation and everything. A little tricky to control - I guess a somewhat bigger garden or a smaller turn radius would have opened up more options for the player. Fun and surprisingly immersive nonetheless.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:18pm

99 too. But is enough challenging and a good theme interpretation. Good work!

Big Cow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Fun little game! Steering frustratingly wide lol. Like the monster plant too.

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Fun game, generical game mechanics, a little bit too hard to control. Good Job :)

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Best score 69. Cool!

beetracks says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Very good! I scored 88. Nice menu and art. I think the turning could be a little faster. The game would be more fast paced. But I enjoyed it! Nice job!

architect404 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:40pm

changing levels after everything is cut rather than having it regrow would have kept things fresh, and sometimes it was frustrating that an unavoidable bomb would spawn under me when moving. otherwise a simple but solid effort.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Nice entry! Well presented :)
The turning circle felt a little wide but other than that, good job!

tompudding says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Looks great, very hard to control!

Hybrog says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Love it! My record is 97 after the fourth attempt, very fun and good to the theme, although maybe some power-ups other than time boost would be welcome, such as improving handling. Fantastic game though, no major complaints.

Quique says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:09pm

best score 70 \o/
It's a fun game.
I like the theme ;)

eerongal says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Nice graphics, fun little game. Solid entry!

GGraca says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Hard as hell xD Had a nice time playing it

orion_black says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Bombs appearing out of nowhere is a major annoyance. It mostly works like a slot machine.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:19pm

get rekt grass

shar says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Very cool art!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]