Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Two Button Detective or a Story about Stolen Diamond

by Si1ver - Jam Entry

This game is a story about detective who was captures by crazy person.
You are the detective. Your kidnapper is not going to listen to you. All you can do is to press Yes or No buttons on remote control that you found in your pocket.

Your goal is to investigate the crime and find who stole the diamond and how he did that. Good luck!

UPD:
Fixed: stucking near broken vase.

---

We haven't enough time to finish third room.
You can beat the game using only first two rooms.

We are opting out from graphics voting because all 3D models are free models from asset stores.
Free music by hamzawy and Azhthar (Creative Commons, non-commercial use).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#593Audio(Jam)2.77
#631Humor(Jam)2.44
#667Innovation(Jam)2.92
#903Mood(Jam)2.54
#924Theme(Jam)3.00
#983Overall(Jam)2.71
#1033Fun(Jam)2.31

Comments

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:35pm

I got stuck near the broken vase :(

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Very interesting concept. I had a hard time figuring out what to really "do" though. I liked the art style, and the voice acting.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Gah, got stuck on the pottery and couldn't move halfway through the game... Otherwise, pretty interesting game you're trying to pull off!

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Nice entry ! I liked the theme and story, but a Y/N control is a little bit too easy. It is useful here, and made realistic by the doll models.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:49pm

The idea is cool, but I took me much time to figure out what to do. The "yes/no" remote doesn't have any audio-visual feedback so I didn't understand at first if cicking mouse buttons does anything at all. Also, the dialogue speed is too high.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Cool idea, but the realisation really needs some work

Big Cow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Great mood. Like the figures and the scene.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:06am

Nice idea

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:57am

Hey! Thanks for feedback =)
We fixed stucking ner broken vase.
We wanted to make buttons on remote control light when you need to answer, but we ran out of time.
Same thing with dialogue mechanics - it needs to be cleanerfor player.
Maybe we'll make a post-compo build to adress this issues.

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:47am

I don't know what to do in this game, I don't want to waste time on figuring it out. I really tried, but the accent of our kidnapper is too annoying to keep playing xD

mathijs750 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:58am

I'm sure I've missed something.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:22pm

I don't like the repeating voice overs when entering rooms, however the game is interesting. I didn't understand how to complete it but I like the concept behind the game!

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Interesting but the voice would talk over itself.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:32am

Nice scenario, interesting design. Didn't know what to do though... I listened to everyone but in the third room he keeps saying "you missed something, Sherlock"

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Pretty interesting, howver "I'm sure you missed something. sherlock" every time i check te 3rd room. i talked to everyone though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]