Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Broken World

by Wayward - Jam Entry

Broken World
- as broken as your controller

DESCRIPTION:

"Discover the vast world of Doar Hinnae,

and banish all evil evilness, before it's completly broken,

prepare yourself for 80h+ of awesome quests and content,

and grind yourself up to level 1000!

See you in Doar Hinnae"

This is what is written on the game i've bought from SQUARE ROOT DENIM,

but as soon as i started it, only the A and START button seem to work,

i can't even use the controll pad. I've written a letter to the developers,72 hours later i got their answer:

"Managment suddenly doesn't allowed us to use more than two buttons, so here you go,

but see this as a feature, not a bug!"

MOST LAZY DEVELOPERS EVER!

- Some angry Broken World player
MOST LAZY DEVELOPERS EVER!

- Some angry Broken World player

CONTROLLS:
A (Accept): ENTER
Start : SPACE

You will need love 0.9.2 to run the *.love file
Other versions should work as is
https://love2d.org/

CREDITS:
Code/UI: Wayward
Story/Level: Krisbyte
GFX/Animations: Brother-MS
Music: Hive

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Humor(Jam)4.00
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#405Innovation(Jam)3.29
#434Fun(Jam)3.24
#525Mood(Jam)3.20
#565Overall(Jam)3.27
#585Audio(Jam)2.79
#678Graphics(Jam)3.14
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:14am

EVRYTHIN IS BORKNE

NOOOOO!!

Nice job! There were some honestly funny moments!

Yvanor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Oh good these music. x(

So, it's a quite funny game, with an interesting concept, and even if the battles are quite repetitive, it's pleasant to play. Thanks ^^

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Amazing idea well executed. Probably the funniest game I've played this week :)
It runs fine on Linux after installing löve.
The only complaint I have is the music which is a very short loop and the fact that there are no sound effects.

monetai says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:59pm

concept was fun but too close to reading a book with images. music was good

luysse_l says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:05pm

nice graphic and nice work

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:05pm

i love the graphics.

ambocclusion says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Hilarious but a little long

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Broken pad with JRPG clichés, good idea.

awesomerex says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:53am

Funny game. I liked the UI. Very classic final fantasy esque.

Gjarble says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:41am

Very funny. I do wish there was more variety in the music, but what you have is nice (it took me a while to realize how short the loop was). By the way, there is a bug with the music, at least on the OS/X version. Once you reach the title screen after beating the game, a second instance of the music starts, so you hear it playing over itself.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]