Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rocket

by thecord - Compo Entry

GROWING speed and perfect TWO BUTTON CONTROL!
Control your rocket and keep it from crashing.


Controls:
Left/Right or a/d

Development toolset:
- Unity 5.3
- Affinity Designer
- Blender
- MuLab
- bfxr
- MonoDevelop
- Atom

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#127Graphics3.90
#254Audio3.14
#573Theme3.62
#602Overall3.10
#690Humor1.63
#703Fun2.83
#724Mood2.58
#931Innovation1.90

Comments

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:37am

​Fun game, and pretty addictive. Impressive 3D graphics for a compo entry. :D

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Pretty cool, too bad it was laggy on my screen. Music was funny.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:06pm

I liked that the speed increased as you went on, would of liked a bit more speed on the stearing though, felt a little tank light where about 10-15% faster to move and i think it would of hit a really sweet spot.

great framework to build upon if you wanted to add a y axis though.

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Awesome graphics and level design, makes my entry look like the hack-job that it is. I agree with some of the others, add y axis movement and you have (wait for it) A whole new dimension of gameplay!

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:12pm

agreed with others, the 3d graphics quite impressive for compo entry
the control smooth, nothing to complain about, and the speed increment for me just right
nice job overall :)

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Very fun game. Music is reasuring "nothing bad is flying your way whatsoever" ;D

Leon Möhring says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Great overall look, but I think the sideways movement was a bit slow in my opinion.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Fantastic graphics. Gameplay is a bit trite after a while.

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Can't say it's innovative, but the graphics and music are really nice.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Had fun with this. Got to a score of 380 something. Gave it a few goes but the music grated on me a lot. With repeating visuals you need varying audio to mix it up. Great entry tho. Nice work :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25am

I like the feeling of the metal room.
The gameplay is indeed a bit too simple.
But good job overall :)

Cheers.
Morco ( tyrants.not.found team )

Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Simple, well made, nice graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/sMG1ENTyKkU

snowshovelboy says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:29am

1763

Pretty fun.

There was this hitch I would get around 1000 that felt like garbage collection you could probably get rid of by pre-creating all of the sections and re-using them instead of Instantiate, Destroy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]