Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Forklift Man

by Davision - Jam Entry

You are Forklift Man! He can rapidly grow his limbs at his will. His amazing superpower must be put in good use among several challenges and puzzles.

Now with Virtual Reality (optimized for Oculus DK2 and SDK 0.8 for Win):
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/22/forklift-man-in-virtual-reality/

Press ESC ingame for all the new VR controls including gamepad controls.


WASD = Movement
Left Click = Grow limbs
Right Click = Shrink Limbs
CTRL hold or 1 and 2 keys = Switch between arms and legs
E or Space = Drop attached object
Space = Jump and shrink limbs to minimum

Fullscreen = Alt+Enter
First Person Views = C
Room View Switch = R
Detached Camera Switch = F
Screenshot = F9

- Legs ability is received further on in the game
- You are much faster with long legs
- When trying to get on a ledge with long ledgs press space to quickly shrink you legs so you can get on
- Growing and shrinking also works with mousewheel
- You can pull yourself towards static collisions with shrinking to the end


Tips for the first puzzles:
- The boxy things belongs into the boxy slot thingy above the door.
- Try to get across with using all the boxes.
- Find the big box and put it in that tight space then climb on that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Innovation(Jam)4.20
#42Graphics(Jam)4.55
#91Humor(Jam)3.73
#115Overall(Jam)3.83
#250Theme(Jam)3.98
#286Fun(Jam)3.45
#462Mood(Jam)3.28
#2043Coolness28%

Comments

TeamOliphants says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:52pm

I really enjoyed the different mechanics and the ramping of the puzzles. I was starting to get annoyed with the box grabbing physics by the fourth puzzle but fortunately there wasn't much more of it.

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Very interesting take on the theme. Loved the mechanical aspect and the art style. Sometimes the camera would be wonky and show the inside of the characters head. other then that impressive game for such a short timespan

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Really neat game. the mechanics were smooth too! although i think the guy's face will give me nightmares.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Really nice graphics, eventhough very simple. original gameplay with nice level design as well. Enjoyed it a lot! Well done.

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Really cool idea!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Wow, what an amazing game! It's filled with content and original mechanics. Loved the growing limbs mechanic and I don't think I have seen it in another game. This is definitely one of the top submissions, and I would probably buy a full version of this. There were some problems though, the grabbing of boxes was a bit fiddly and running and jumping when you had long legs was difficult because your leg wasn't where your collisionbox were. Other than that, an excellent game!

Eldraev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Easily the creepiest main character. I feel like this could go viral if the right youtubers played it. Fun concept overall and the visuals were simple but fit their purpose.

Codexus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Nice graphics style and cool idea. Unfortunately the physics are just too glitchy. Cubes start spinning for no reason ruining my attempts.

Studiosaurus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:04pm

You shouldn't list it as a web game if you don't have an in browser player

Miltage says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Bizarre concept but I really digged the look of the game.

And as someone else mentioned "Web" links are for web-playable games, not websites. You should change it to avoid confusion.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:35am

wow such strong sense of style!!!! Also very fun and on-theme! Congrats!!!!

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Really cool idea! I'll have to try the post-jam versions later because it was really a bit too hard to maneuver around for me. I got past the first puzzle easily enough, but the second one stopped me in my tracks. Way to early for such an original and cool-looking idea!

pi_pi3 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:05pm

I loved this so much. And I discovered some bugs. You can fly if you stand on a box and grab it. Sometimes it's possible to retain the speed after jump-shrinking.

fxtagn says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Fantastic and good implementation!

Masuno says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:53pm

I... uh...

what.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:41pm

this is actually a really unique and clever little puzzle game!

a little glitchy, but that's to be expected for 72 hours. I would love to see this as a full game, I think you actually have a really fun idea / concept here.

I really liked the looked of this game as well, overall Excellent job!

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Crazy made ! nice game ;)

akirassasin says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:23am

Left-click and right-click in OS/X version doesn't seem to be working.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:12am

this is a cool entry. i like the idea, the visual style and it makes fun! but there is only one thing .. sometime it's very hard to estimate the distance between the character and the cubes in his hands

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:28pm

I like watching games on EU4 like ours, a wonderful job!

uvwar says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Graphics are really cool! I didn't get very far, though, as I couldn't tell where my cubes were in space (maybe having some kind of obvious shadow?) and because I couldn't rotate cubes I kept dropping them or having them bump each other, or accidentally grabbing a bottom cube after I placed a top one, etc.

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Unbelievable art for 2 days of development! Great job!

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Also (sorry for posting it here) sorry for not clear rules in Let's Play Simulator 2016 (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=31114). Hope this screenshot (http://take.ms/flHZu) will help you to understand how to detect good/bad games :)

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:26pm

It lags too much for me to play.

guoboism says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:10am

Strange style! Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]