Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Isoshoot

by kiiro94 - Compo Entry

A little game about shooting things in a isometric style space.
There are 3 level and 3 bosses; approx completion time: 15-20 minutes.

Theme: Two button controls.

Software used:
- Programming: Game Maker Studio
- Graphics: GraphicsGale
- Audio: Renoise


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#83Audio3.71
#91Fun3.79
#180Overall3.66
#261Graphics3.53
#302Mood3.24
#346Theme3.89
#765Innovation2.63

Comments

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:31am

well done. The particles look great and the music pretty awesome. I like it. It is def a keeper!

kiiro94 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:16am

@Jstank Thank you!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:00pm

I really liked this game I did think I encountered a bug though, I died with boss approaching and it just carried on engaging boss without me repawning or restarting.
Overall really liked this. at one point I though sound got too much, but it grows on you and ties in well with everything. Love the way the enemies break into back as you shoot them. Awesome work.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Well done

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Epic game ! good graphics and music !

ciobeni says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Good one. Jstank is right, the particles look great. Something I liked more than I initially thought I would was the isometric style, for some reason I really dig it.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:18pm

I like this. Something about it just works well. Had a bug with the approaching boss never arriving, but it didn't spoil my fun. :)

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Great game!!! Isometric, shooty, and spacey. Those are three of my favourite things.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:40pm

The music was nice, and the simple graphics worked well. The collision is a bit too forgiving, imho.

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Woah, you got some nice varied gameplay here, it's pretty addicting. I love how the cube get destroyed. Cheers!

rockford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:18pm

I a big fan of particles... Thank for feeding me with a so fun gameplay. Smooth game.

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Found a bug: I died while the text for the first boss appeared but the game did not stop and just kept on going... without my ship. No way to restart or continue.

Neat little game with good feedback for hitting enemies with all the particles flying off.

kiiro94 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Thank you everybody for the feedback!
I will upload a v2 soon without the discovered bugs

grimidev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:55pm

GG kiiro! Best music evah :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:46am

This one is so much fun! I can see myself playing this whenever I want to relax and have a some fun. Music is 10 and graphics are accordingly retro and minimalist. I love it!! Really well done.

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05am

Well done! Great game!

Silvio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:42am

feels very good

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:45am

Really nice simplistic game, with some neat particle effects :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:55am

Great game, nice music, nice graphics. Good job :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:58am

Pretty awesome! Simple controls but very efficient. Good old school graphics, and damn! I need to practice! I can't beat the first boss!

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Fun little game! I died once and restarted, then died again and the game didn't let me restart (just a bug report for ya).

I don't know what it is but I really love the style and angled approach to the game. The multi-hits to kill a block mechanic rewards accuracy, which I liked a lot.

Nice job!

antonuklein says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:46pm

A very good and solid game, easily one of the better games I've played from this jam.

bradur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Great game!

I love the stylistic choices you've made, like the info screen on the bottom right. The sound, music and graphics all fit together very neatly and the gameplay is simple but very challenging. Awesome!

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:25am

Incredible game. The aesthetic is awesome, the graphics and retro sound fit together perfectly. The game play itself is a little punishing with the one life system, however I am extremely happy that you added a checkpoint system upon death. The music is unbelievable. This is an outstanding entry, 5/5 graphics, mood, audio.

Anti says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:27am

Well done. Really liked this game. The music was awesome!

refreshgames says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:49am

Fun, but frustrating game, that's a good thing for me, I replayed this a lot. Managed to beat the level 1 boss after some patience then felt a bit cheated by the laser gates on the second level? I can get behind the aesthetics of the game, minimalism is rather nicely done here and the sound tracks is damn nice but boy oh boy, I would have killed for shadows on level 2 :P

Very nice game though :)

Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:50pm

Very well done. Good choices on when to use sound and when not to use sound effects. As mentioned above, particle effects are nice. The first boss may have had a bit too much health, but that's a minor tuning issue.

Yvanor says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:57pm

Good job, very polished game. Even if the perspective is sometimes strange, it's clear and pleasant to play ^^

Gaspard_ says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Solid but very punishing game.
Little cracks here and there (you can beat the first boss without moving) but those aren't game breakers. Good sound effects, nice style, ok music. Overall great entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]