Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Lost Wanderer

by The Vall - Jam Entry

The Lost Wanderer is a time based maze game where your objective is to exit the maze. Walk next to a fire pit to light your torch which grows your vision for a limited amount of time. If you get a fast enough time you can submit a highscore.

Game Controls:
Z - Rotate map right
X - Rotate map left

Menu Controls:
Arrow Keys - Scroll up and down menu
Enter - Choose selected option

Highscore Submission Controls:
Any key - To enter a name
Enter - To submit highscore

Team that made this game possible:
Adam
Blake
Cory - @nzjaloko
Danni - @_dannidickson

Made with HTML5 and Javascript.
Graphics: Paint.NET, Gimp and Photoshop CC.
Sound: Abundant-music and Bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#443Mood(Jam)3.30
#463Theme(Jam)3.73
#487Audio(Jam)3.06
#689Innovation(Jam)2.88
#732Overall(Jam)3.09
#789Humor(Jam)2.06
#832Graphics(Jam)2.76
#839Fun(Jam)2.73

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:03am

Pretty relaxing game, but a tad monotonous. Also, After I finished a level, everything went black and didn't come back.

4burner says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:07am

I walked off the edge of the map, and I don't know if that was me winning, or, well, walking off the edge of the map.

Otherwise, neat enough game. Not going to sit here for more than a minute or two, though, but well done!

dekart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46am

Very well done!

Few notes:
* It would be much more comfortable if character would always rotate when the whole map cell is passed, so it doesn't get stuck by not reaching one pixel till the end of the tile and then rotating.
* The vision extension bonus could've been found more frequent - it would give an additional positive feeling about accomplishing something.

mr. a says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16am

I'll echo dekart's comment first -- it'd be smoother if movement were more cell-based (I kept misjudging the player's hit size by a pixel or two).

Aside from that, it would be nice if there were a run button, and a bit more to see/do. It feels like a solid base to expand on.

This would be kinda hypnotizing on autoplay, or as a mini-game to play while heftier content is loading.

jackrugile says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:39am

Great concept, you guys! I got lost incredibly easy, but it was fun. For noobs like me, I'd love to have something like three breadcrumbs to leave per level. You have to use them wisely and it could be an additional feature to the torch. Nice work!

kostak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53pm

I passed the maze and got nothing. I demand satisfaction! :)
I like the idea, but so far it is quite muddy implementation. A maze gerneryatya randomly or are they static?

The Vall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:08pm

@kostak, The mazes are static.

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Cool use of the two-button theme. The way the map spun was a little dizzying for me, but I enjoyed it none-the-less.

trexmix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:35pm

High score system was very cool. Did get a bit boring quickly and a bit of a hitbox issue but overall a sharp game. Well made!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Disclaimer, I've never been a fan of mazes.

To pass a maze all you need to do is to visit every area once and eventually you stumble upon the exit. The challenge thus is that of memorization.

The problem is that the maze looks the same all across the level. This makes remembering which part of the maze you've already visited a pain. This frustration is multiplied by the ever rotating camera angle, which makes it even harder to remember which way is which.

Having some landmarks and tileset variation would help quite a bit.

The breadcrumb idea proposed by jackrugile is also fitting, we are talking about mazes after all.
This would require an additional button however, which is forbidden, so here's a similar proposal.

Have the player character unspool an infinite ball of yarn, leaving a trace where ever he goes. That would indicate which areas are all ready explored and also create a new aspect to manage. Walking around all willy-nilly would leave a tangled heap of yarn which is hard to parse.

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:45pm

It had a nice atmosphere, and I really liked the concept. I got a bit nauseated by the constantly rotating screen. I played all the levels to hear the different songs (nice to have one song for each level!). It would have been interesting to have some kind of threat on the levels. Keep it up, I enjoyed this one :)

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Nice game! I like the idea with the growing visible area, but it would be great if there were more than one step. At one time I managed to get a second fire while the visibility was already increased and the size didn't change again. And I would like to see some additional things to do inside the maze, maybe collect some treasure.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Good game. I liked the idea of rotating the map instead of directly controlling the character. The only thing I did not like was that the player hit box was bigger than expected so I got stuck a lot more times than I would have liked when I was turning.

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Wow great concept. Could be a really great game if you develop it more. Only suggestion would be to have the player move on the grid so when you hit a turn button it only happens at the right time, more like pacman, I got stuck on the walls a lot. Great job!

psychonull says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:30pm

I liked the aesthetics and mood of this game. Maybe making the player hitbox smaller would help to feel the controls more "smooth". Also I hoped that the torchs stack!. Good job

rzuf says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Woohoo, highscore!
Cool game. Player's hitbox is too big so it's easy to get stuck when turning. Would be cool to have him also slide off the walls when a corridor is near.
Nice and moody, congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]