Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Albert & Zoe

by numero15 - Jam Entry

This is a rhythm boss battle game. You have to defeat the beatemon using the powers of Albert and Zoe.

Controls :

Albert :
Press "a" to attack the beatemon - you will hurt him only if you stay synchronized with it's beat.
Let "a" released to parry the beatemon's attacks

Zoe :
Press "z" in rhythm to cast helping spells on Albert

Press "esc" to pause.

This game was made using the haxeFlixel engine.

EDIT :
- fixed the freezing bug on zoe's attack
- add windows version

Thanks for your feedbacks !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#123Graphics(Jam)4.21
#127Theme(Jam)4.14
#149Innovation(Jam)3.70
#306Overall(Jam)3.54
#426Mood(Jam)3.32
#498Fun(Jam)3.18
#513Audio(Jam)3.00
#2482Coolness0%

Comments

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Graphics are gorgeous, lovely idea!

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:01pm

seems to freeze...

shcromlet says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Freezes for me after a few beat attempts

lekochen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:15am

Very nice graphics but it's kind of hard to match the beat.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35am

Freeze each time Zoe managed to spell something. :(
But the idea is fun, and I would be better to this kind of game to test it truly.

Dexyne says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Interesting game, sad it froze when using a skill with Zoe.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Great concept. RPG battle / music game hybrid is super interesting. Felt like the beat was off though for me. Love it though!

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:12am

AS others mentioned, I also feel the bit was a little bit off, but overall very interesting game. I did thoroughly enjoy it and love how you stuck to the 2 button controls. Great Job!

hadesfury says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:15pm

For a rythm game, a little more work on the sound would have been welcome.
Reminded me of one of our previous LD games : cable theory (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=10263) Have you tired it ?
I liked the graphics and the mood, overall, but I found the rythm was a little difficult to follow. Had you had more time, I would have preferred a more rewarding ending as well...

Pusty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Nice concept! Nice graphics and sound.
But this are 3 buttons and there is no growing is there? :P

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:23am

I wasn't able to get the hang of it, but I really love your idea of a bard/mage rhythm minigame! The graphics were awesome as well! Good job!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Great pixel art. Couldn't quite figure out how to match the boss' beat alongside Zoe's mechanic. I found myself focusing on one or the other. Very cool idea though!

richardboegli says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:09am

Very nice graphics but was hard to match the beat. I wasn't able to get the hang of it.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:30pm

I really like the idea, but it's a bit unclear to see if the attack was successful or not and the way the boss reacts. If you can improve a bit on the feedback side you can have a very interesting entry.

Smirnov48 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:14am

Very good and innovation idea, I think! But some time rhythm is strange slowly. It seems bug.

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:53am

Love the idea and graphics, wish gameplay was more diverse

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]