Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Glow&Grow

by Ivan Volkov - Jam Entry

How to play
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Collect particles to grow!
To collect the particles of different colors, you need to change your color. If you catch the wrong particle the whole row of same color will explode.

When you reach the glowing area you will move to the next stage. Every completed stage increases your multiplier.

Write your record in the comments!

Controls
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
LEFT and RIGHT arrows

About us
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
The game was made by two 3rd grade IT students:

Mahiylov Artem (https://vk.com/just_okey) - developer
Volkov Ivan (https://vk.com/volkoivan) - developer, designer

Feedback
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Leave it here or contact us via e-mail:
volkoivan@gmail.com
mihaylovartem74@gmail.com

Music: Ghostly Dust Machine – Ode To A Baby Snowstorm

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Theme(Jam)4.17
#125Mood(Jam)3.81
#143Overall(Jam)3.77
#156Fun(Jam)3.66
#187Innovation(Jam)3.61
#350Graphics(Jam)3.73
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Great Job! The beginning is just a little too fast but you get the hang of it. I really like the look and feel. Very simple and elegant.

ajopart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:55am

Liked it very much

Drunkain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:20am

Okay it's was hard, but it's was so cool !
Great job !

yhsper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:24pm

I like it! The art and the music are nice, I especially like how you "sum up" the colors collected around the center of the circle. And I liked too how you achieved the "two buttons" goal, even if I think I'm terrible at this! :D

lawendt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Nice!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Music is great and I love the innovation. Very good game I had a great time playing

TheOZone says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Great game, personnally i found stage 1 harder than stage 2.

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Oooooh, this is an interesting one.

My first reaction was that I didn't like that it was colour coded - it's the same problem as playstation games with quick time events where they expect me to remember up is triangle and down is X and right is circle in the heat of the moment.

But then since there was only two, it was forgivable. When the colour palette changed I was pretty fucked for a bit. So again, don't like the colour correlation.

Then I realised the core was growing with the number of successes, making the dots hit quicker. Game getting more difficult as you earn an advantage is cool!

Then realised it was synced to the music somehow, and that's also really cool.

You've hit both themes well with this! So that's really rad :)

I just want some kind of system that makes it not have to be colour coded. And longer, better music. And I guess more patterns.

Rad :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:35am

Yea :D you are right our game art is very similar with very different mechanics, looks like i found another one with the love for abstract vector art :) Good game mate well done

hexagore says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:04am

Absolutely beautiful. The mechanic of depositing the particles as rings is ingenious. Lovely stuff.

Leon Möhring says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Great job! Would like to see some more patterns in the points coming at you, but the game looks very new and fresh and the audio is also great. You could even sync the music with gameplay in the future..

Leon Möhring says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Great job! Would like to see some more patterns in the points coming at you, but the game looks very new and fresh and the audio is also great. You could even sync the music with gameplay in the future.. (why no audio ratings allowed?) And the trailer got me..

Dejvo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:11pm

very frustrating for me, but nicely done. maybe start at a slower pace and always do colors that are clearly visible. nice job otherwise

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:38pm

I can see this game reaching top 3 of the competition!

It's really fantastic!

Good Art, Good Music, Simple and Funny game play!

Congratulations Guys!

ascam says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Really well done, a bit hard to get started but quite immersive that's true. Themes are really well used. Graphics & sound design are handsome

timeshapers says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:55pm

I don't understand the fail condition. It seems sometimes when I miss I lose rings, and sometimes I lose the game.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Great game :)

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Excellent presentation on this, love the clean minimalist look going on. The way the colours accumulate around the circle is nice too. I wish it were a bit more evident which colour was currently selected. Also I didn't quite get enough time to get accustomed to new colours as they appear. But overall, awesome work.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:01pm

The graphics are absolutely incredible for this, if I could give you 6 stars for it I would!

sputnik says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Great concept and nice graphics. But it start WAY too fast!

alyphen says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:31pm

A very simple concept but pretty fun to play with. The only thing I feel could be improved is the response when something touches the central circle - a sound effect, a more prominent visual effect, something like that would make it more satisfying to play and let you know when you're making mistakes.
Great theme interpretation and fitting audio. Nice job.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Great mood!! Music is very cool!
The dots go in the tutorial strait but in the game in circle. It's was in the beginning a little confusing!
Congrats for your entry!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Fun game. I would have liked a slower level to get started. Very addictive.

Guard13007 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:55am

It starts too quickly, and would really benefit from something like a casual mode, but otherwise, I love it!

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:06am

I think you did a great job of making the music match the mechanics. Great feel, clean and simple. Nice job.

kmakai says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Got to stage 5 with 7014 points. During the last stage, the music had stopped (or maybe it was just delayed, I didn't last more than 4-5 seconds.) I really enjoyed playing this one! This was an awesome way to make a "rhythm" game with only two buttons still be engaging.

The music was a nice fit, and the visuals were clean and simple (which was appreciated while concentrating!) I would only suggest that there be some kind of audible indicator when the color isn't matched up -- sometimes in between lots of hits it could be hard to tell.

Overall really great job!

scorched says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:11pm

6740! Not into mobile type of game. but this one is a fresh relaunch of the old ideas, especially liked how the particles dance and the ability to regenerate! Well done!

Joror says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Very nice feel to it - I'm not much of rhythm gamer unfortunately. :)
Music nicely timed. Only thing that was hard to see at times is which color was 'on' when it got hectic. (white on white background glow is hard to see)

Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:58pm

This game looks great, we would love to review it!. Head over http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming and sign up. Keep up the good work :D

yuigoto says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:30am

Whoa, this game has some nice feel! Loved the style and the simplicity. Paired up with the challenging gameplay, this is a great minimalistic game!

It's a tad fast in the beginning, though. :P

Nice work! :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:33am

Отлично. Один из моих самых любимых проектов. Вас поздравляю :)
This game is really hard, but funny. It reminds me Hextris, but yours is different. I like how you manage the difficulty by using the gravity and velocity. A great project. Thumbs up ++

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:39am

Боже мой. Я только что понял - этот проект находится на ГитХуб. Спасибо большое вам. Five stars ++

LittleThor says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:40pm

What an hypnotising game!
I enjoyed it! Very nice choices on colors and simple shapes.
It's a bit sad you didn't compose music by yourself, but I know it's not a thing everybody can make :)
Great job!

camlang says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:09pm

The mechanic is a quite interesting one, but I had a feeling that most of the time it was a random button pressing. More visual, audio and overall game feedback for successful color choice would help make it more "in control".

YinYin says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:13am

Some colour contrasts weren't all that good. The magenta pellets on a similar background as well as the orange on a similarly bright grey.

You could do something special upon holding both directions (clear/absorb all visible for example in return for losing a portion of your collected shells?).

Tapehead says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:27pm

cool concept but very hard! but overall well done

GhostBomb says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Fun game.

It was really hard to tell which color you were on at the time. The slight transparent glow is really subtle.

Waynetron says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:50pm

Music is wonderful, but I feel it belies the hectic pace of the game.
The selected colour is not obvious, and there isn't enough feedback when balls collide correctly / incorrectly.
Great simple idea.

schizoid2k says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:02pm

Nice game... simple to play, hard to master!

rojo says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Game's pretty tough, but I enjoyed the simplicity and the aesthetic. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]