Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mead Runner

by Wuschli - Jam Entry

Try to reach the bar of the tavern by avoiding all the different Objects on your way to get a delicious mug of fresh mead.
You can control the character with the left and right arrow key.
When you reach the bar the night progresses and the way to the bar gets longer and longer.
If you are connected to the internet, the way gets longer for every player on the world.


So be quick and get your mug of mead before you stumble and have to go home sober!

IMPORTANT NOTE: Mac and Linux builds are not tested!
Assets are not made by me, but from the Unity asset store!

There are some last minute bugs that i may fix in the next few days.

Until then try to restart the game if the loading message does not disappear.

Also the connection to the server seems not to work properly for now and the local highscore is broken sometimes, too. Sorry for that :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#95Graphics(Jam)4.33
#441Humor(Jam)2.77
#513Audio(Jam)3.00
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#705Overall(Jam)3.12
#790Theme(Jam)3.32
#817Fun(Jam)2.76
#929Innovation(Jam)2.40

Comments

Shurty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37pm

It's pretty :D
the glittering light gives a headache, but I succeeded to get my beer anyway ! :)
I liked the music too.
For your technical problems, it worked for 1920x1080, but if I chose something else with the unity menu at the start, I couldn't start by clicking the menus

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:31am

the game is beautiful - but the collisions are killing me - make them smaller - takes away the fun - good effort

tompudding says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:14pm

There was a really long load time between attempts which kind of took away from the fun. Looks and sounds amazing though!

misson20000 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Linux build isn't working for me :(

YinYin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Text upon running into things has bad contrast to many parts of the scene. A subtle black outline or slightly black boxing it would make it more readable.

Main menu takes forever to load without any progress bar - instead the whole game freezes. Makes replaying the game rather painful. (it displayed as offline - I guess some failed network call causes the delay?)

Music sounded quite off key and once the percussions chimed in also out of rhythm.

On top of all that the collision detection was extremely punishing. Either having a bit more leeway or being allowed to collide a couple of times with audio/visual feedback before failing would've made it more bearable.

The graphical assets and lighting worked rather well though.

jachepe says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:14pm

The graphics are cool but there are some bugs with collisions! Regardless this bugs, it's a solid game and good sounds. Great work!

Aaranos says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Art wise, really well made. The lights do flicker a lot, could just be me. As others have said the collisions are a little unforgiving.

eerongal says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Really sweet graphics work. Nice job!

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Graphics is nice :D i like it.

Weloxux says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Linux build doesn't seem to work for me either.

camlang says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Beautiful graphics! Nice job

xdigdoug says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:27pm

This was a fun game to play. A little short though, it can be completed in under a minute! Everything was pretty good looking though.

I did lag every time I returned to the menu, though.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:18pm

schaut super aus .. kürzeres reset wäre cool :) .. aber insgesamt doch recht cool

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:12am

Looks good... but my crappy integrated graphics can't run it... The linux version also crashes on start for Ubuntu 14.04 LTS. Sorry. :P

DissonEnt says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:23am

A pause before he starts running would have been great. The controls are really sensitive (turn rate too high?).

hyperscope says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:40am

Visually the game looks well put together. Had issues trying to restart when clicking to go back to the menu. Hitboxes could possibly be more forgiving

Gipzo says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Great graphix, but long load times. And sometimes the game generates an obstacle right at the start of the level, so that you can't react to turn the carachter.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]