Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rotate And Match

by pcmaster - Compo Entry

I did this one in about 8 hours in Unity/C#/Photoshop/Sfxr. All content and source included :)

Everything explained in game. Didn't have time to add any music or effects, I had no idea I was going to be able to participate.

Enjoy and critisize!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#199Innovation3.64
#233Theme4.00
#324Fun3.36
#377Overall3.36
#553Audio2.48
#607Humor2.06
#685Mood2.67
#839Graphics2.25
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

Chaserbrown says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:51pm

This was a pretty fun game! Great Job!

Efuvex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:44am

Unique. In a good way :)

dmecke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Nice idea and the goal matching is nicely done!

Japes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Cool, simple game! I actually had fun playing it. My only criticism is that there could be more levels and maybe the matching algorithm could be improved, sometimes I felt I got away with a solution that was quite different from the goal.

pcmaster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:05am

I actually have the goal matching tuned to be less forgiving but decided to leave it like this because I was very happy to "publish" it at all :) I didn't wanna cheat, is all.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:59pm

What is lacking in polished game content is made up with great programming here. It's crazy how you made a margin of error like that. Definitely looking at the source code for this one.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:35am

Impressive for only 8 hours! This is a fun puzzle game. I found the matching algorithm a bit fiddly at times, especially with that sideways U shape on level 6. Nice work!

monetai says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:53pm

i really really liked that one, it's really loads of fun

local minimum says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:30pm

It was a pretty hard game. I only got to level 3. But I liked it. The thing that was bugging me the most was that there was no snapping to the balls so it was hard to know what was within the tolerance of the specification. I think too it could be made more fun if set in a proper setting, like building molecules. If the number of angles the new ball can attach to previous balls the problem could also become in which order the balls need to be attached for it to work. It would be nice too if the evaluation if it is possible to build the target was done after each new ball so one doesn't have to play the level to an end each time. Good entry though.

lastnerd says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:55pm

Pretty nice idea.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]