Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Seeds of Sky

by Nanolotl - Compo Entry

Dig holes.
Plant seeds.
Explore the skies.
Collect all the things.
Procedurally generated!

Keyboard controls:
Arrow keys: Movement and digging
Z: Jump
X: Hold to select seed(left and right to choose), Release to plant
F4: Fullscreen

Gamepad controls:
D-pad: Movement and digging
A: Jump
X: Hold to select seed(left and right to choose), Release to plant
Right Shoulder Button: Fullscreen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#71Graphics4.13
#119Theme4.16
#124Fun3.69
#129Overall3.75
#155Innovation3.72
#189Mood3.45
#410Audio2.79
#425Humor2.48

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:10am

I found a thing sealed underground, also i got trapped

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:23am

I liked figuring out what the seeds do. Really easy to get trapped though.

mlepage says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25am

I played the HTML5 version. Colourful graphics. Some variation in sounds would help a lot.

I dug a bit, couldn't get out. Figured out I was getting some sort of seeds or gems.

I restarted then climbed a bit into the sky, got onto a platform, found a flower.

I could see that I was supposed to find 12 things, but I wasn't sure how.

mackthehobbit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:33am

I liked this a fair bit, and the art is fantastic! The idea is pretty unique, but takes too long to actually get anywhere - being able to break a tile while in the air would make progress a lot quicker. And the goat is absolutely busted ;)

barret907k says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:35am

Very fun. Got about 6 things then performance went way down.

fiddenmar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:37am

Great game, well done. Also thank you for html version.

Jimbly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:45am

Got stuck on my first game. Second game I knew better and managed to make it all the way, get all 12 things. Got quite OP after double jump and wall jump =). HTML version worked great, and was easy, thanks for that =).

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54am

fun game liked the mechanics. I couldn't get any sound on html build win10 I.E.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:45am

Really great game! It's fun and innovative. The graphics are good and the seed planting is really satisfying to make the blocks grow as the tool

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Lovely graphics. Digging works well.

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:50pm

"I am a fox and I diggin' an hole, diggy diggy diggy hooole"

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Nice production work for the graphics. A bit confused as to what I'm doing, but had fun doing it. :)

Deineri says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Solid fun for a while, good job!

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:00pm

A very innovative platformer, and excellent use of the theme! It's a keeper.

KZdev says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:03am

That was fun, I found my very absorbed in the game until the finish (BTW the ending throws an error, says it's trying to move to the next room after the last room). I like how you forced experimentation with the different seeds. Good game!

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:25am

I love the idea and character animation, they're really lovely cute :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Pretty cool game, but sadly the controls are so fast, that it's almost unplayable to me. I collected 7 things, but then I had to quit, because I kept falling off of things.

If you make a post compo version with tighter controls, I'd galdy hear about it. Drop me a line on twitter if you do!

I loved the art style, it's so colorful and pretty :-)

sbot1101 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:08am

Really dug this concept... Great amount of content for a LD game. Really enjoyed coercing the growths to go where I wanted them.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Cool game! :)

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:28am

This game game me vertigo. It was a lot of fun though, i first went to the underground powerup and very nearly got myself trapped but managed to slowly escape by digging a tunnel up and flooding it with blocks. It can be pretty frustrating when starting off, especially with such fast movement, but once i started memorizing what each block did i started building proper stairways and safety nets, and it became much more fun. Great work!

Also, after collecting the final powerup, the game crashed with a fatal error, attempting to move to a non-existing room i believe. The game also started slowing down when growing blocks after a while (Windows version).

Solifuge says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:46am

Very much Starseed Pilgrim, but I really enjoyed it; it's a solid mechanic for the theme! Nice platforming and puzzle combo, figuring out the seed behaviors. I liked how the objectives also gave you powerups; that helped progress feel good.

Also the goats were so awful I now hate goats IRL.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]