Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Feed Me!

by UrbanHelsing - Jam Entry

Story:

Aliens from outer space have taken control over humans. They bear a striking
resemblance to Earth’s fish, which caused some humans to keep them as pets. What the
foolish humans don’t realize is that they are the ones being held captive.

The fish are now forcing humans via mind control to go out and acquire the only food
from our ecosystem that they can tolerate, which ironically is fish.

You try to fight it, but you can’t help trying to carry out their mission to
the best of your capabilities. Pray that your family doesn’t find you like this...


Mission:

Your mission is to find fish, reel them in and then feed them to your pet fish.
Row your boat with the oars using the left and rigth arrow keys.
When you see rippling water, move there and you will start fishing.
Fishing requires you to press the correct inputs as seen on top of the screen.
Feeding your pet will make it grow. Keep feeding until it becomes huge, then you win.


Controls:

LEFT ARROW: Left Oar / Left Input
RIGHT ARROW: Right oar / Right Input


Problems:

EDIT: Latest version of avast fixes this problem.
1. If the game won't run, try disabling Avast (or your antivirus program), copy the .exe-file and then run the copy.
2. If there is no sound, install OpenAL (by running "oalinst.exe")

OpenAL download link: https://www.openal.org/downloads/


Credits:

Erik Hallin
Emil Hallin
Magnus Tullberg
Fredrik Schön
Niklas Hallgren


Gameplay video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mCCOsSIbpos

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#456Innovation(Jam)3.22
#488Humor(Jam)2.68
#583Theme(Jam)3.60
#678Audio(Jam)2.36
#748Overall(Jam)3.06
#778Fun(Jam)2.83
#786Mood(Jam)2.81
#871Graphics(Jam)2.66

Comments

Dohxis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Aww man, my fish starved > _ <! Actually a very fun game with a very interesting idea behind it. I guess I found the location of fish not so obvious as my eyes aren't good enough to see where the rippling water was > _ <. Also a little lack of music, but the sound effects and general feel is on spot. Overall, a very great job I must say. I'll be giving 4-5-ish :)!

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Cool game! I liked the rowing mechanic. Haven't really seen anything like that before.

MAB says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:59pm

actually a fun game and a great idea.

7/10 too much water.

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:11pm

I like the rowing mechanic. Rowing will feel more natural if the strokes lasted a little longer ( If one could travel further before you had to press the rowing button/s again).

EMPBomber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Really well done. Great use of theme and mechanics.

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:34am

Really fun game. Rowing mechanic was great, simple gameplay with a clear goal. great work

kebabskal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Not bad! Didn't bother to download OpenAL. Too many games to try :) Btw. From your names it looks like you are a bunch of swedes like me. Tumme upp!

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Wonderful idea and unique controls. I liked them a lot at first but then rowing hurt my fingers eventually, would be superb with Xbox controller support!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Nice entry, loved the control mechanic. Found it hard to spot the seaweed. My fish died, couldn't find any fish to feed my fish. Next time I'll just go to the pet store and buy fish food.

Esjaji says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Really neat little game! The controls were tricky but ideal given the themes, and it was pretty fun too! If I had to pick at only one thing, it would be that the fishing spots and seaweed were just a taaaad too hard to see! Otherwise, really good work!

monetai says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:04pm

animation of the cbaracter was good, game in general was fun, but the feedback of the position of the fishes is hard to see on my monitor, you might consider making more easy to see feedbacks in the future

Joror says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:25am

Was trying to row both oars at the same time (as one should?) but was not getting places fast... my pet fish died alas, only after a little bit of fishin'

Dejvo says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:01am

i really liked the idea buut the execution lacks crutial points

Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Rowing mechanic was really frustrating. Concept was pretty great though. I saved humanity from the aliens! (My fish died.)

terryg says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:00am

This was fun. I liked the rowing mechanic and the surprizes like the ray that comes and eats your fish. The graphics are great too. I felt like the game starts out too hard. I think it would be better to reward me with easier victories in the beginning then gradually progress the difficulty of the pattern and in finding the fishing spots. A very fun game though, which is hard to pull off. Great job!!

Gjarble says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:34am

Interesting use of the two-button controls. I like the control scheme you chose, though I was a bit thrown off by how long you have to hold down a key before the boat moves substantially.

The pattern matching mechanic to catch a fish was cool too, though a bit too forgiving to be a challenging obstacle. On the other hand, I agree that the fish were very difficult to find. Several times, I accidentally rowed into a fish without seeing the ripples in the water, and there where many long periods where I did not see a fish at all (usually ending with my fish starving).

I really like the story behind the game, and the gameplay concept you've created. With some polish, I could see this being really fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]