Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Flobe

by Skinny Jean Death - Jam Entry

*GAMEPAD ONLY*

Forever Humble PDX via Skinny Jean Death Studios in collaboration with Porcelin Labs, presents FLOBE, an unique game with an emphasis on quick pick & play action and casually intense gameplay!

Use both analog sticks to control the blue line's position and length! Collect the blue characters in order to fill your multiplier for a higher score! Missing them will break your multiplier. Watch out for the green bastards, red bastards and those god damn bombs, if they pierce your bar it's Game Over!

Lose yourself in the FLOBE!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#439Audio(Jam)3.16
#497Innovation(Jam)3.17
#555Graphics(Jam)3.38
#557Fun(Jam)3.11
#651Overall(Jam)3.18
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#924Theme(Jam)3.00

Comments

James McVitty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:20am

Pretty fun to play. :)

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:21am

The game does not seem to support keyboard, which is sad, because I think the game would've worked quite well with just wasd and arrow keys combined, but that's just, my opinion, man.

Besides the fact that I didn't really get to play the game, it looked pretty good because the animations were nice and the characters were cute. I liked the idea of the concept, and I think it would've been pretty fun to play. The music didn't add much more to the atmosphere than the visuals did but kudos for putting a soundtrack in.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:22am

No keyboard input?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23am

@bobismijnnaam
Clearly says you have to use both analog sticks to play.
Sorry it has no keyboard controls

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26am

Flobe ONLY uses gamepad. There are no keyboard controls.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:29am

I really want to play this game, but I don't have a controller.

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:31am

Really fun gameplay mechanic and overall presentation, nice work! Got 566!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:32am

I'm not a huge fan of having to pull out a 360 pad to play a PC game. Still, nice idea. Calming music. Got a little repetitive, maybe you could have different kinds of good/bad guys or powerups or something?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35am

@Slashee the Cow
There are 3 enemy types, but you have to get a multiplier up to around 15x to start seeing them

timeshapers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35am

I'm not big controllers, but this was pretty fun.

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:44am

I really think that the mood ties the gameplay together really well: great soundtrack :D

The gameplay felt nice, even if sometimes I would get confused trying to figure out the exact rotation of the bar. I don't know if additional visual feedback (i.e. two different colors for the left and right edges) could have helped me.

Still, great little game! Congratulations!

bodsey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:49am

Well it's solid, fun, and charming, great work

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:54am

Good work ,graphics on level and nice idea,we need web version)

gene-z says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:03am

Nice game, too much fun

Ayaya33 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:39am

I really liked this, the controls were very different but still a lot of fun to use.

I think it would have been better if it has gotten harder faster, because it seemed like it went at the same pace the entire time, though it may have been increasing very slightly and I didn't notice (I got to 2666 points, or something like that)

RadStar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47am

Nice game but your choice to limit to game pad control will really limit the number of player who can play it :/

It was fun to play but I was a bit frustrated to not be able to do a full rotation x)

Nice graphics and calm music, good.

I'm not sure it fits the theme though. On a keyboard the game would have needed height button, that's why you choose to limit to gamepad joystick, right ?
Joystick are like thousands button in a circle, I don't think it should count as only two buttons .
That's the only bad point i see though, the game was fun anyway !

good job.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:27pm

@Ayaya33
the difficulty really begins around the 15x multiplier, it just keeps increasing from there. We will keep working on it. The next level of difficulty is a two colored bar, where you have to collect the correct color on the correct side.
@RadStar
The definition for 2 buttons was vague, some would say that technically the directional pad is a button, some would not....but no, there is no intention to use the keyboard and never was, we realize that limits some players, but controllers are the bees knees baby! You intentionally can't flip the bar, we tried it, but it became confusing to the player to remember which ends were controlled.
@Everyone one else...
Thanks so much for playing!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30pm

We made a 2nd game also. Please check it out here.
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=48290
We had to upload it from 2 different accounts, so I haven't had the chance to log into that one yet to play and rate games for the coolness factor....I'll be doing that when I get home from school.

powerkraut_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Really like your background and music, they seem to create a really relaxed mood together.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Gamepad only :(
Why no keyboard input? That's ridiculous.

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:53pm

I couldn't get the game to start with a ps4 controller on a mac. could be a the controller axes are different. left trigger also exited the game, or crashed it

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:58pm

@elliottd
PS4?
Even PS3 controllers are a headache for MAC, especially when trying to program both controller styles to operate. They make it so ridiculous to map them between Xbox and PS. Xbox works on the MAC though

kebabskal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Tried with PS4 gamepad on Windows but the game crashes whenever I press anything :/ From what I can tell, graphics are pretty cool!

sorle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:09pm

wow really fun game and somehow addiction :D

The olny thing I didn´t like was, that you cant rotate the line all 360. first i got stuck and feelt like i couldn't move at all.

but only a small downer. i've had a fun time playing our game.
good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25pm

PS4 Controllers do not work on most PC games.
PS3 do but even then you have better odds with a 3rd party controller.
Default is almost always...sadly...xbox controllers on PC

jachepe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:09pm

I don´t have any gamepad but the graphics are cool!!

jigalx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Fun!

pcmaster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Not very accessible for people without a controller. Had to dig one up to play this. Pretty cool. But two sticks isn't two buttons (3/5) :P Good job though!

zguerrero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Great game! totally addictive and relaxing, liked the sounds and music to!

daveh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Nice concept. It's quite zen once you get going. There is a bug where if you make the rod perfectly vertical and as small as it can go then you can no longer move either end, but otherwise it works nicely. I can't imagine this being fun without analogue stick controls, so you're right to not have any keyboard controls IMHO.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:33pm

@daveh
Yeah, we never for a second intended to have keyboard controls. as for the bug...we just didn't have time to fix that for the jam. We are still working on it though.

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:13pm

nice flobe! I had a fun time i liked the goofy characters you collect. I ran out of flobe and died but i liked flobe a lot

herniewise says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Fun fun fun. Congrats!

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:44pm

No Linux version unfortunately :-(. Game looks interesting though.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Beautiful and fun game delayed until the end. Good job.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Ugh no keyboard?

VascoF says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Very nice concept, well done!

YinYin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Well ... the controller available to me right now only has a dpad, so I could only turn and stretch the left end while the right remained stationary.

I don't quite know why you wouldn't simply keep wasd + arrow keys in there for alternate controls (one game here uses 8! analogue sticks and two buttons - but you can still use number keys instead, because who has 4 xbox controllers lying around ...).

At some point during both runs I did the bar got stuck and I couldn't move it any more ...

Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:42pm

@YinYin
Well that was silly for you to even try if your controller doesn't have 2 analog sticks, as the directions clearly state use 2 analog sticks. Sorry you didn't get the chance to really play it. As far as keys, well it's simple...I'm going to be making the game for console...not to mention it's nowhere near as fun to play on a keyboard. It's a gamepad only game by design choice....it's only intended to be controlled by twin stick function. Plain and simple.
Again really sorry you couln't really give it a go.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:06am

Liked the graphics. Got stuck for a while and I discovered it is gamepad only.

This is a Unity 3D game and there is no excuse not to accept keyboard input.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:37am

@nunesbarbosa
Of course there is an excuse. THERE IS ZERO INTENTION OF THE GAME EVER USING THE KEYBOARD. IT IS FOR GAMEPAD ONLY!!
It was not an accident....the game will NEVER support keyboard input.
Did it for the Lulz!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]