Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Breathing Dark

by shrapx - Jam Entry

Search through the dark for the two buttons that unlock the portal to the next day.

Now that I have the game compiling in linux, I will pack it and offer the binary soon!

Movement: WASD or ARROW keys.

Light Handling:
Take: Z or Left-click.
Drop: X or Right-click.

Character Selection:

1 - Guy woke up in this dark room with nothing on him, Guy is an average guy.

2 - Blake has come looking for his friend, Guy. He is more prepared with 3 torches and is more fit than Guy.

3 - The Guard. He has plenty of torches.

4 - The Skeleton is very fast and clumsy, he has bones made of light, he cant take torches, only extinguish them. (this may not actually be true due to a bug.)

Let us know how many days you have chalked up, who can go the most days?

Any bugs? tell me!

I idle in the afternet #ludumdare, you can reach me there :D

Confused about what to do on level 2?

1: Pick up some lights.
2: Allow the wall to be covered in darkness.
3: Re-investigate that wall.

Linux Dependencies: jsoncpp

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#200Mood(Jam)3.63
#407Audio(Jam)3.21
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#678Graphics(Jam)3.14
#755Humor(Jam)2.15
#772Overall(Jam)3.03
#896Fun(Jam)2.64
#1066Theme(Jam)2.33

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:51pm

The game would be improved immensely from a tutorial and a less steep difficulty curve. I couldn't figure out the second puzzle whatsoever.

shrapx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Thanks Madman for checking my game out! i have added some more vital information to the info above! Is that enough to get started?

DarkenVaeth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Worth playing for the sound effects and end screen music. I managed to reach day 38. You need to collect the red button and green gem to enter the next day through the door. Screen shot - http://i64.tinypic.com/29fqa6h.jpg - When you cannot see the walls for darkness they morph which can be useful.

Wevel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Not quite sure what I was doing but the music is cool and the map changing when you pick up the lights is cool

KZdev says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:09am

Very unique game, great art style and sound. I could only get through 3 days, I liked it though!

shadow64 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:40am

I really liked this. The concept is strong and you execute it well. The music was good and the game is complex and simple at the same time. I'd love to see a tutorial like people said and to have a more fleshed out version of this. I really hope you do a post-jam version and keep working on it. Congrats and thanks for sharing!

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:30am

Nice job! There were a few collision glitches here and there but it didn't take away from the game that much. Very nice job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:02am

Very good job! It's such a briliant idea, and the graphics and sound are great too. I love it!
Though I have to tell you something that may be a bug:
When you have +2 lights and you place and pick up the light just before it rans out, it'll be 100% but the following will consume a bit. However, if you have only 1 light and you place and pick up it it'll never die. I think that makes the game quite easy.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:11am

this was fun - adding to my list of favorites - day 5 - nice job

aare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:11am

Nice idea, sometimes controls don't respond properly but it's nice game, also you catch nice dark mood

Pimmetje says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Fun to get lost in the dark. Needs some finishing touches. But fun to play with.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:45pm

A good puzzle, a pixel in a pleasant style, quite atmospheric. Good job.

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:42am

Great mood. I had some difficulty figuring out what I was doing, even after the instructions. Still, it was intriguing to explore. Nice!

yuigoto says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:29am

The concept is quite a good one, and it's quite challenging too! :)

Loved the work on the graphics and audio, the mood you've set up is amazing! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]