Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Odd Binary Run

by Nattack - Jam Entry

Hey, this is our game for the Ludum Dare 34 made with Superpowers by Adrlink (Graphist) and I, Nattack (Developper).
A platformer in which you have to finish the game to allow to the boy to go to sleep after his game.

Controls :
Z : Jump
S : Dash/Next Cut off Scene
Mouse for menus

All the levels are possible but it's hard ^^.
For the level 3, the exit is near the last mob (the "guardian").

Look at:
- Timelpases : https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLMwDmBoJ6EdTxfT7Pja7ldRBhmoiV4u8J
- Twitter : https://twitter.com/NattackProg
- GitHub : https://github.com/NattackDev/

Enjoy :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#335Theme(Jam)3.87
#416Humor(Jam)2.81
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#718Fun(Jam)2.91
#732Overall(Jam)3.09
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00
#828Innovation(Jam)2.65
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Cant get past the start up level :(

Nattack says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Oh really??!!! Retry and retry ^^ I'm sorry that the levels are hard but as I tested each of them undred times it's easy for me ^^ But it's possible :D

UncleChris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21pm

It is very difficult, get a little ways into the first level and keep dying timing jumps and monsters. It is a good concept, but might need some tuning.

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Nice theme. However, I find it a bit hard to play with Z and S on QWERTY, but besides that, the game is good.

Nattack says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Yes thanks you. That was just a first release for the Ludum Dare we are going to improve it to release a better version :D

Nattack says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34pm

@NuggetTeam Oh damn it's true ^^ We are French so we use Azerty... Sorry that will be fix for the next release but for the Ludum Dare it's too late

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:40am

I like some difficulty, but this was a bit hard for me. The controls were good, but the level design was difficult. Good entry though.

2pae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:10am

very hard but i love the graphic,the pixel art is great and music too.congrat

Nattack says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:40am

Thanks ! Yes, I'm sorry for the difficulty of the levels ^^. For a next release on itch.io after Ludum Dare judging, we will fix all problems and create easier levels!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Quite a nice game, but it's very difficult (maybe a bit too difficult?). I like the art style. The music also quite suits the game. Keep up the good work :)

Cheers!

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:44am

I found myself frustrated as it seemed that it wouldnt jump some of the times. I did get to the 2nd stage anyways. Also music probably shouldn't restart every time I die. aside from that not a bad first LD entry.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Interesting incorporation of the two button theme (that everything is binary) that's what this had going for it. In that vein i think you might have gotten away with a more literal with the concept and had your buttons only affect player action when they were held down (1) or not held down (0). I'm probably just overthinking it tho. Your game was more committed to the theme than many I've seen.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Got through all the levels - just a blank screen at the end? Found level 1 quite hard, but after that just spamming jump allowed me to complete the game without trying. Not bad for a first time entry though! :)

Nattack says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Thanks you ^^. That's my first true entry so I have not the experience for this kind of jam but for next time I will be ready to create a game better :D

loxo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:09am

Great audio combined with nice graphics. And you managed to integrate both themes: Two button controls and growing frustration, because the game is really hard. Congratulations ;)

Nattack says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Thank you very much !! :D

Eingya says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Found it very hard, but the idea is quite interesting!

Nattack says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Yes you have to dash a lot to not fall ^^ and thanks

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]