Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Agropolis

by Magicolo - Compo Entry

Build a city with a strange arsenal of peculiar growing blocks.

(game might take 10-15 sec to load, worrying is not necessary)

Controls:
-Use mouse to drag blocks onto the floating city-growing-fertile land.

GAME: http://gamejolt.com/games/agropolis/113655
SOURCE: https://github.com/Magicolo/LD34
TIME LAPSE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyMbM1KbW6E

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#211Innovation3.61
#331Theme3.91
#380Mood3.10
#570Overall3.13
#586Fun3.00
#613Graphics2.87
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:30am

This is really cool. Its really fun and intuitive. Seems like it would be a great touch screen game.

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33am

The endless click'n and dragg'n got a little old after a while, but this is really cool!

Magicolo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38am

thanks for comments; The game actually works touch if you have a touch screen on your PC ;)

zatch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:39am

Fun and interesting to watch it grow. Nice, simple colors to look at and really nice zooming effect. Very zen -- doesn't require any score keeping. Would have given a much higher overall score with some nice music, especially if it was dynamically generated based on the growth of the shapes; the sounds of a growing city!

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41am

Clicking and dragging actually got a little boring after a while, but the graphics are really unique!

paraboxx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41am

I like the sandbox aspect of it. Nice player progression although I was confused the first 30 seconds or so.

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41am

Clicking and dragging actually got a little boring after a while, but the graphics are really unique!

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:55am

I like the way it looks, and it's fun.

swellbastion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59am

i like the design

siege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:03am

Fun to look at. Relaxing.

scottrick says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05am

Nice work! I figured out what all the blocks do, except the horizontal blocks; they never seemed to grow for me.

ceosol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:06pm

I love me a good simulation, and this one is very good. My biggest critique is that Orange is the only one that actually looks and builds like a city. Orange creates new blocks and expands in random directions. The other three all expand in the same way. It would have been nice for green and purple to change directions to look more like roadways. Also, blue (the capital building???) could have split after a certain time to make a plaza look instead of a giant block.

I definitely think you should pursue this further. Already having touch controls makes it perfect for mobile applications. I would even say to keep the graphics the same because when it is zoomed out, orange (for now) looks like a city scape.

Codexus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Cool idea! Needs a bit more oomph to keep the player entertained but it's a nice start.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Well done! It really feels like a growing organism.
It would be nicer if you could click to place a shape, and used another button to switch shapes.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:38pm

This is ridiculous :)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Very calming game-- like playing with lego's or an even more distilled version of what makes minecraft fun. Develop this for a tablet and sell it and you'll probably make some money-- my kids would play for hours and as a parent I'm willing to play at least 5 dollars for that.

gallerdude says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Weird but fun. Would make a great tablet experience. Feels Dr. Seussian.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]