Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hestor and the Tree of Doors

by Tasteslikefuture - Compo Entry

Hestor and the Tree of Doors

By Jared SaizdelaMora

One day, Hestor the Robot awoke to find that a magical tree of doors had sprung up in his front yard. Follow our robotic protagonist as he explores the ever growing tree of doors to uncover it's mysteries.

I decided that with a dual theme, I wanted to utilize them both in different ways. Two button controls made sense in terms of mechanics, while I used growing as a more thematic element, with each world beaten growing the tree of doors and unlocking new areas.

Controls:

Move left and right with A and D. Press both to jump. You can perform a running jump by holding either A or D down, and quickly tapping the other key briefly.

Press floor buttons to move platforms or spawn minibots. Minibots are able to press buttons as well, and can be used as platforms in some situations.

Springboards allow you to jump much higher than normal. Running into a springpad gives greater height than jumping on one.


Thanks for checking out my game, and a big shout out to all the other indie devs out there who took the time to make something for ludum dare!

*UPDATE* So apparently, I uploaded a really early version to gamejolt instead of the final version, which fixed alot of the physics issues with clinging to walls and whatnot. I guess that's what happens when you don't sleep for two day, but anywho, The right version is now up. Still a few issues, but not nearly as bad as prior.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#93Audio3.68
#184Graphics3.75
#215Mood3.39
#448Humor2.43
#544Overall3.16
#744Fun2.75
#759Theme3.33
#765Innovation2.63
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12am

Interesting idea, had difficulty making the jump work well. Good audio.

MAnimal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:38am

I dont know why, but it seems to second door on Part two level two can not to be open, i tried it two times. :( Very nice music and artstyle.

donvermo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:42am

Interesting spin on the theme and controls.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:43am

you have to keep pressing the button; eventually the minibots will stack up and hit the door button. Thanks for playing though!

Jordan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:51am

The interesting art style adds a cool mood to it, I like it. Good job.

paulfysh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:05am

Really like the art style! Hestor looks so sad! The sound also works really well. That said I had issues getting the robots to hit the button on the second clock tower level, had to spawn about 30 of them before the did so. Also some of the clipping seemed a bit loose.

TreePunchers says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:05am

Greatly used theme and interesting mix of art styles. Gameplay controls (stickiness) could be made a little smoother.

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:02pm

the audio is very good and i realy enjoy the 2.D and papers graphics, nice work!

2011petia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:11pm

I can't play because i use Chrome, the game says chrome is not compatible, but i saw those images and i realy liked your concept

SadSmile says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:22pm

This artstyle is amazing. The gameplay is a little bit flat but this game all in all is an artpiece. Good job man !

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49am

Nice sound and graphics, thats a difficult gameplay, and at first the "puzzles"/doors seems difficult to understand haha =)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55am

I like what you were doing with the handcrafted artwork. Creates an interesting atmosphere/world. The controls didn't handle as well as I would have liked. Made platforming difficult in parts. Really liked the music. Great job.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:57am

Liked art and idea. Good work!

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Graphics are so interesting, because of their handmade look, it makes a really good mood with that music and colors. Gameplay is a little hard because of this jumping, but still playable, and I like robots! I enjoyed it, good job!

Suaave says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:37pm

I love the controls and the Burton-ish look. This game is so cute :D

Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Interesting game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/6QI1ZQ7v1fA

SiENcE says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Ok, i don't undertsand this game but thats why it makes fun!

The controls are hard to understand, the sounds are ugly but the music is great and the graphic style is fabulous!

I really like it :)!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]