Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Journal of a Lifetrap

by Kozax - Jam Entry

The game is about a boy's quest to reconnect with his loved one.
Navigate through comic book frames and overcome the obstacles.
Reach the checkpoints to grow the power of love!

Instructions:
Arrows, WASD to Move
Up arrow or Space to Jump
Controller Supported

Made With:
Construct 2
Manga Studio

If you want to see more adventures visit Odysefs Blog:
http://journalifetrap.tumblr.com
He will be uploading news and progress on his new web comic project!

Thank you for playing!
Please rate and comment

UPDATE: Hopefully hitboxes are now fixed. Also made a couple tweeks.
Thank you for your feedback!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2373Coolness10%

Comments

narve says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Great art style, really adorable

Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Cool graphics!

Mezzenstein says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:27pm

nice gfx and atmosphere. The hitbox makes it difficult ;-D

SayRafon says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:07pm

The graphics are really good, the style levels/comic page is very interresting! proble : the hiboxes ^^

gabriel_pnc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:42am

I love it! its a unique game, beautiful graphics and a quite hard (the part i liked more)
CONGRATZ

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:21am

What a cool/great idea. Loved how the intro pulled me into the game. Loved the feel. Great monochromatic art style. Good music too.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53am

Nice game, graphics look awesome!

shadow64 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:09am

Love the art style and the concept for the game, but "those hit boxes" as many have mentioned. I played the web version so maybe it didn't get the update, but woof - that was a tough love story!

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:13am

amazing art, audio and style of game/comic, really cool. Too hard for me, I tried like fifty times the 3rd frame of full heart and I gave up, I'll try more times later. great game!

Blobo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Really amazing work on the art! the last level was pretty challenging. I eventually did it, but man, that took me well over ten minutes. really nice story too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]