Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

2ButtonsAdventure

by Zyow - Jam Entry

Hi! This is my entry, 2ButtonsAdventure, solo, Unity, 50h, 2 button controls!

2 buttons to progress in the adventure and save your village !

-- Controls --

Clic on buttons or ​use Left & Right arrow for actions​

R ​for reset the game

​M​ for mute the music

​Escape​ for quit the game

-- Update --

-Add a web version
-Add a music by Sei Mutsuki(https://soundcloud.com/sei_peridot/sets/peritunematerial)
-Lot of FIX
-Add 2 monsters

* coming (if I have time) *

-Better sprites: more details
-A real UI
-Animations, animations everywhere!
-Sound + Music
-More Events
-More Monsters!
-MORE MECHANICS!!!!
-Update mechanics in fights
-Mobile version
-Procedural quest?!

Give me feedback!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#160Graphics(Jam)4.12
#202Humor(Jam)3.32
#265Theme(Jam)3.96
#380Fun(Jam)3.32
#411Mood(Jam)3.33
#487Overall(Jam)3.35
#667Innovation(Jam)2.92

Comments

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:05pm

fast paced game, good work

randomhuman says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Great graphics, and the idea of just going from one encounter to the next was kinda cool, but I didn't so much feel that I was playing the game as it was playing itself. Really needs some sound. Check out bfxr if you haven't already, you could whip up some appropriate sounds for this game in a matter of minutes.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:10pm

That was AWESOME!!!!!!!!
Could have been longer, but had me on my edge. I thought I was done for when I could not escape the boss, but proper strategy mode kicked in and I survived on level 4!!!

Good game, but wish it was longer.

fafastudio says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Great graphics !
I would have loved more animation, but overall, it was a very nice game

Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:30pm

WHAT AN AMAZING GAME! lovely pixel art, stunning medieval music, really enjoyable and challenging too, the final boss take me like 6 tries, 5/5!

Grouflon says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Cool idea, but I got to the end without being sure of what was really happening in combat (I did not really got what were the timers for). Attacking then blocking then criticaling seemed to be the right strategy everytime.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Interesting concept but definitely needs some sound effects.

sergicollado says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:49am

Great mechanics, so cool. One of the best!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Well the village is saved, you can relax now.

Nice art. Enjoyable game.

Jamming on the buttons is sufficient to beat the game. I'd like it more if the block and critical buttons were timed for a greater challenge.

tompudding says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:21pm

I really liked this, even though this kind of thing has been done before, I still think it is a great adventure game! Fantastic sprites, each one looked wonderful

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Awesome art! The game was pretty easy, and I'm pretty sure button mashing will just always win, but it was neat and enjoyable.

jachepe says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Fantastic game in all points! I really enjoyed it. Great work!

GGraca says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:11pm

That was too fast :( Pretty and with an awesome music.

anael says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:02am

Quite cool, I'd like to see it more balanced in term of difficulty but it works good and the universe is interesting

juaxix says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:07pm

reminds me of barbarian game from amstrad cpc :)

Tapehead says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:46pm

this is a cool entry! keep it up!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:49pm

Loved the graphics and the music, great entry.

jackrugile says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:14pm

I loved the art in this game. I had a little difficulty telling when I was doing which action, and what the benefit of clicking critical vs. just staying attacking was. I'm sure I could see the difference over time, but maybe an explanation of the difference somewhere would help. Nice job!

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:04am

One of your downloads is not packaged properly. The EXE alone cannot be run. You need the Data folder zipped up with it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]