Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Walden: Thoreau It All Away

by bearcabin - Jam Entry

This game is either a Stressed Life Simulator or a journey of fulfillment and personal growth.

Twitter @bear_cabin

CONTROLS
Left/right: move
Up: interact, select

KEY FEATURES
-Your own desk
-Days that will slip away from you
-Yearning for more
-At least you have a job you ungrateful millennial
-There is an ending, I promise

CREDITS
Most things by me except:
-a couple sounds by the great folks contributing to freesound.org, like thearxx08
-music composed by WA Mozart

TOOLS USED
-Pixen (graphics)
-Audacity (sound)
-CFXR (sound)
-Garageband (music)
-fromtexttospeech.com (voices)
-Gamemaker: Studio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#104Humor(Jam)3.68
#194Audio(Jam)3.59
#231Overall(Jam)3.63
#265Innovation(Jam)3.48
#286Mood(Jam)3.50
#366Graphics(Jam)3.71
#371Fun(Jam)3.33
#704Theme(Jam)3.46
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:01pm

I was attracted by the title. Visuals and sound effects are very nice.

Gameplay wise, I had little input on my actions except for the time passing (kudos for the day/night cycle, by the way :)) and the heart depleting/filling up. For example, I could go to work at 1 AM and it made no difference. I'm unsure if that was intentional as a metaphor of modern life or I just lost my patience too soon and there was more to it.

However, as I said before, I really appreciate the idea and aesthetics, well done!

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Very, very nice game! You should add death from hunger and insomnia)) But it's really good job! Good luck ^_^

petercraft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Nice game, I <3 it!

RovingSquid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Very well made... Fun little game

Darkflint says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Niiiice :) I like the song from the ending^^

Allthebees says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:19am

The aesthetic to the game is really nice, the art and animation is fantastic. There wasn't much consequence to the game-play but it was still interesting to play. Maybe the looping on the audio could've been a bit better.

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41am

This game comes close to being interesting and meaningful, but falls short because the gameplay is woefully lacking. I can walk back and forth and do some things, sure, and it's really a beautiful little world to walk back and forth and do things in, for sure, but there's no coherency. Why do things have the effects on your health bar that they do? Are the three different worlds correlated in some way? It seems like things deplete my health more quickly at some times than others, but I'm not sure, because nothing at all is made clear to me. What purpose does the workplace or the cabin serve in the gameplay? In fact, why go anywhere at all when I can alternate between the computer and my bed and have the whole thing done in a flash? It feels like there is some interesting idea struggling to be conveyed here, but I have no way of knowing what that's supposed to be.

You've got the aesthetic nailed down pat. The game looks great - the art is wonderful, and the little details (from the time of day to the way that the skyline slides away as you walk to the cabin, as well as the background audio) make the whole thing fit together in a nice way. The world of the game is engaging, but the game itself just isn't.

krika08 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:25am

Oh my god! Your my hero! This is the best game ever!

Mr_Fudd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:43am

I'm not sure how I feel about this game. The art and sounds were nice, but I think one of the biggest problems was that there was no direction. No matter how many actions I did, I never felt like I was moving towards any type of ending. The day/night cycle was cool, but there were no differences in action based on the time.

adaFish says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:22am

A neat little take on the concept. Once I figured out I could fill up my heart just by eating I got into a little loop where I just ignored work and ate and created (and cleaned but that was accidental). There were really no repercussions for missing work and not sleeping, unless you count the distracting presence of the flashy "work" text (which might be part of the commentary here). I loved the character creation bit, and the audio was very well done.

Volatile Dove says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Visuals and sound effects are nice!

*spoilers*
I feel like working has no effect, I could arrive at any time at work or stay at home, coworkers were not even caring. Also not sleeping for days is apparently ok. Not sure if intentional.
But the conclusion is nice, creating is good :)

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:21am

That title :> I loved this. Your use of audio is awesome, all of the soundscapes really put you there. I felt stuh-ressed in the office, but going to my own Walden... ahh. Simple game, but it's focused and cynical and warm, and has something to say. Great job.

komilll says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:32pm

There was a great idea but I think the project needs polishing. You can't starve or die from no rest. Also there is many posibilities for jokes and comedy.

piper82 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:36pm

my gripes are that deadly tiles are barely visible when moving and some weird bugs on moving platforms. good platforming experience with nice music.

YinYin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Ending?

Too bad I didn't reach it.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:32pm

The title is easily the best I've seen this LD.

The graphics are pretty nice. I like the fact that you can customise your character. Sounds are good as well. Not much in terms of gameplay, but as a simulator, it worked really well. Some of the simulation features may have been a bit simplified (for example, it might have been nice if staying up very late resulted in you waking up later the next morning), but that's kind of a necessity in this type of game.

So yeah, I enjoyed this a lot. It gave me a break from life and maybe made me think about new things.

Spoilers below:




I felt a real thrill once I realised that I could go right from my house; very immersive. And once I was nearing the end on my masterpiece, I stayed up way past "bedtime" to finish it. Again, felt very much like something I'd do in real life.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]