Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pointless Text Based Quest

by pixzleone - Compo Entry

Simple little text based game made with only a smartphone.
I'm out traveling, but couldn't miss ludum dare, so I didn't!

The framework is open to use, link 'unitypackage' in download and links!

Controls:
Write commands - keyboard
Send commands - enter
Scroll - up/down arrow keys

full list of controls can be found when playing.

Known bugs:
On the "second day" you wont be able to pass the clues.
Play and rate the part before that.

Have fun, feedback always appreciated!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#443Humor2.44
#785Mood2.42
#788Innovation2.57
#882Fun2.40
#910Overall2.57
#934Theme2.45
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Cool idea, but I can't in good conscience rate your game as I am not a big fan of text-based games so my review would be biased.

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Well done! First time I have heard anyone doing ludumdare on his smartphone alone.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Pretty cool game, but i have some complaints:
1) Commands should be able to be inputted with alterations, not as exact lines.
2) Lore, command and help texts are all blend together, making it hard to read. Need to add color and text size differences.
3) No autoscroll, you have to scroll manually. Which is annoying.

Linus123xbb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Very cool considering it was made on a smartphone.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Your engine really needs auto-scroll and maybe highlight keywords in some way. I almost always needed "help" to get a list of clues. cardinal directions could also be shortened to N, E, S, W. And I think I encountered a glitch: On the second day (?) I could only look at the clue "X=" but "back" wouldn't work.

pixzleone says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:56am

The engine has many problems, thanks for the tips. And yes that is a glitch, I simply forgot to add that command..
Thanks everyone for playing and for the feedback!

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:53pm

On a smartphone? Wow. The scrolling is quite annoying, and a wider variety of commands would be nice, however it was really neat!

thelasthour says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:08am

Game was really cool but then I could stuck in a room where a paper said "x=". help revealed that my options were "clues" and "back". typing clues read the paper but going back said the command wasn't found. I tried all the commands I'd tried thus far but nothing worled. Oh well, seemed really good anyway.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:01am

i've no idea how to make any of this. good work! manual scrolling is odd for a console program, as has been said. the grey on black is odd too, usually ppl prefer black on white or white on black text contrasts. :-)

donvermo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:21pm

To be fair: There wasn't enough of the game to really judge this type of game. As a consequence, I did not like it. Props however for making the entire thing on a smartphone, I would not have the endurance to do that.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Can't quite figure out how to beat this. You might be interested in Inform: http://inform7.com/

Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:55pm

LOTS of railroading, which made this feel like a guided story more than an actual game. Interesting concept, but we got stuck in the second phase; once we read clues the second time, we were unable to escape the east room and continue. (Help listed "back" as a command, but it wouldn't recognize the command.)

This is cool for being made on a smartphone, but feels unfinished.

pixzleone says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:48pm

So as said in the description: that's a game breaking bug. And this was made on an iPhone, otherwise I wouldn't have made a text based game. Thanks for the votes though, I might fix the bug in a post compo.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Really neat that you made it on the iphone! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/3B2_gBg5rhI

SusanTheCat says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Very cool. Interesting that the look command doesn't work everywhere.

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:09pm

It quit working after I tried to go north at the very start. :/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]