Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hypernova

by Efuvex - Jam Entry

NOTES: IF THE USER INTERFACE IS OFF SCREEN USE WINDOWED, NOT FULLSCREEN (thank you!) Web player build available now!

Hypernova is a fast-paced rail shooter, set both on Earth and in space as you fend off attackers from another world. When Earth comes under siege, you must fight and heal your way to their main controller, using only your left and right mouse button - a hefty task indeed.

Use left mouse button to shoot, right mouse button to use collected heals, and maneuver your ship using the movement of the mouse. Older computers may struggle to play this - we recommend if lag is striking harder than the enemies, that you try the specialised operating system builds, which are simply executables - not installers. They will run much smoother.

Featuring 3D cutscenes and ambient music, enjoy the explosions of your enemies, and as you dance in their debris, share your kill count with the world (or in the comments) ;)

Also, going to shamelessly advertise our game we made that is on Kickstarter. It's a mobile game called Orbfall where you control an orb with the tilt of your mobile device around a grid of unique blocks. Check it out here (there's a 1 minute video of gameplay) goo.gl/iPc5e7

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#388Graphics(Jam)3.68
#475Audio(Jam)3.09
#496Mood(Jam)3.23
#522Fun(Jam)3.15
#525Overall(Jam)3.32
#745Humor(Jam)2.18
#768Innovation(Jam)2.74
#863Theme(Jam)3.17

Comments

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:46am

Wow nice job guys! Very impressive with the different parts, cutscenes, etc.

SpringCabal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:10am

I can see the effort you put in this, good job!
I also liked the combat, it was fun enough, albeit a bit too challenging for me :)
What I thing you could've improved:
- More textures on units, missile/projectile trails, and similar. Should've probably done this rather than spend time on the intro.
- The left/right click is not particularly interesting. The right click especially is a bit underwhelming. I know the feel though, our game also struggled to make the two button mechanics interesting!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:15am

Solid. Loved the cute ship that flew around that you are. loved the big ship. Got 36 kills. :-)

walaber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:30am

nice work- cool to see cutscenes and different environments and even some nice transition effects (the wave change effect is cool). gameplay itself was a bit repetitive and simple and I didn't get much of the theme in there, but a solid effort!

Efuvex says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:40am

Best score from the team was 58 by Topaz (for the record)

marod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:46am

Nice game! I like the game

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:10am

It gives me vibes from early star wars games, this is a really good thing!)
You did a nice job to create 3d shooting game, I've spend some times with it and had some fun! Sometimes it's hard to understand in which direction enemy bullet flies, but maybe its just me. Good work!

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:22am

ahAhahaHAhah, that fish! It was easy to avoid being hit by just going in circles, and because the game progresses through waiting, completing it was kinda easy. My score was pathetic though. :D
Certainly needs more sounds and sCrEeEnShAaAkEs!
Great game, really had a blast playing it. :D

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:38am

I never saw a shooter in this view mode. The theme was well help and graphics were outstanding for a game jam. My only down point is the SFx, but other than that, everything was awesome :)

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:58am

Not a bad game. You should have worked a little more in the graphics, but it's a great idea.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:13am

Nice entry, the small cutscenes were a nice touch :)

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:23am

Nice job. Fun gameplay.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:26am

Looks good, but too borring, imho

Saivan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:29am

Great idea! I spent a little time playing! You dont see the time passing! Good work!

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:41am

Whoa. Really amazing.

AboLD says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:10am

It's very great to see a game like this that made in just 3 days, good job Guys!

korvyashka says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:39am

Good job!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:57am

Very well fleshed out game, well done!
This seems to be my pet peeve complaint but I would have wished you could get upgrades for the main gun (now it took so many shots to kill even one enemy...)

Zener says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:03am

Cool game, very ambitious!

bitowl says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:51am

Linux link should link to HypernovaFinalLin.zip. Then everything's working.

Efuvex says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:41am

Ah thanks.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:50pm

The gameplay is a bit simple but it is a good job.

loxo says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:50am

The game looks interesting, but I only see a multiplayer mode when I start it up. So I'm not sure if that's a limitation of the web build and is meant by "less fancy". It would be nice to have something for orientation in space, maybe a moving background when you turn the ship.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:24am

You have done a wonderfull job in no time! The music is very good and the graphics are stunning! I like the control and the gameplay but I have problems targeting enemies in the top-part of the screen. Great game, anyway ;-)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:47am

Can't evaluate this. I only see multilplayer, but there's no one online.

Efuvex says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:17am

Omg oops I accidentally replaced the game with a multiplayer alpha build..

Efuvex says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:28am

Fixed now

loxo says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:31pm

I played the game again and it's fun to play. I like the different scenes and different types of enemies. But I'm a bit confused about the score. On the surface you implemented a counter, but not in space. So I'm not sure what's included in the final score. I counted everything myself and had a higher score than was displayed in the end, so I suspect that not everything is included or I made a mistake. It would be great if you would also include the counter in space. And different types of weapons/ammunition would be nice.

Jan 1, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Quite a nice shooter, if not that original. Pretty good graphics. The music is good, if maybe a bit generic? (As in, it's good, but it doesn't really give off a science fiction or action vibe.)

Oh, and the big photorealistic fish got a laugh from me.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 5:34pm

Could play now, the web version is not really that much less fancy but the right click brings up the context menu so you can't heal in that one, may want to check if you can intercept it.

I found it a bit hard to focus on where I'm shooting, somehow I would either lose track of or ignore the reticule and miss shots. In the first section the reticule also disappears in the mountains for a bit at the end. My shots flying slowly to their targets was also a bit strange. If they hit their targets faster it will communicate better if I'm aiming right, I think this is related to me not fully getting along with the targeting reticule. It's a busy screen and even though the reticule is green and large enough, it still gets last in the moving parts on screen.

I'd also like it if the earlier enemies would be go down faster in 1 or 2 shots instead of after 5-7 shots or so. Right now the flow is:
- move cursor to enemy while shooting
- am I aiming correctly?
- drill bullets into static enemy, bop bop bop bop
- "Ah crap, it moved" OR have to dodge a missile OR it explodes
- repeat

While I like the setup, the game itself is a bit uninteresting and also a bit confusing because of what I guess is lag from the player moving slowly towards the target reticule, the slow bullets and the static feeling of a wave.

It's all very floaty which I understand why that is, but this will be compared to 2D space invader games which manage to add a lot more dynamism to the flow with relatively static enemy fields. In 2D invaders you get of course the advantage that placing the player in 1 position allows it to shoot through a whole row of enemies whereas in this setup each enemy is on its own 2D position and I have to navigate to each one and they move around quite often.

Also look at the recreation of Star Fox in this very LD by gladers: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=40397 to see an alternative approach that, while it has some other issues, is rather dynamic. A different game, but I feel aspects of that one would fit nicely in this entry as well.

Best of luck and a happy 2016!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]