Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growth Needs Balance

by v01pe - Compo Entry

It's important to keep the balance
Otherwise everything will break apart!

Growing will cause everything to totter
Balance can never be restored, but striven for!

Greed causes the equilibrium to collapse
Always maintain reasonability!


The game was made in ~8 hours, have fun!
Use arrow keys…

I made a small hotfix after the jam that prevents the physic to freak out causing an early end of the round.
The original submission can be found here: https://github.com/v01pe/LD34/releases/tag/originalSubmission

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2163Coolness22%

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:43am

Great idea. Grow slow :) Minimalistic graphics, but still looks good.

v01pe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Thanks!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38am

Really nice idea, but still very minimalistic

Ingon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14am

Minimalistic, but full of possibilities. Good job.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Hey, I didn't fall and the game over showed up anyway! I was killing... ^^
Otherwhise the idea is pretty good and the theme is respected. Well done :)

v01pe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Thanks everyone :)

As I was pinched for time, I only jammed for ~8 hours, thus decided for something minimalistic, doable in the short time.

@David: There's a bug, that the new branches sometimes don't spawn in place and when one of them collides with the floor, is's game over…

demogorgon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08pm

I don't know why I enjoyed this so much but I did. I really like the concept.

DeanoC says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:57am

Really liked it, though the exploding tree bug meant it was over too randomly a lot of the time but still very fun!

v01pe says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:45am

Thanks, I might even fix that collision bug… does anyone know if that's "against the rules"?

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:34pm

My highscore is 4349. Neat little game! A simple yet very fun concept. Performance isn't the best in Firefox 42, though...
Fixing big bugs (or platform-specific bugs) isn't against the rules, but it is recommended to disclose it in the description or something if you do, and to also still include the original version as a download :)

Knowledge says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Nice little game! But soon becomes boring.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Hard but I like it.

v01pe says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:59pm

THanks for the feedback! I made a little hotfix today fixing the physics problem that caused the game to end early… will post the original version in the description.

v01pe says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:11pm

…if you played it before you may have to empty your cache first (for the web version) in order to play the fixed version!

JoseArias says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:40pm

5911 was my best. Nice game!

chrizdekok says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:40pm

Great simple game. Like it a lot. The only thing that I missed was a faster restart when crashing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]