Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Happy Gardening

by Instant Noodles - Jam Entry

Hi everybody !

Let me introduce you our wonderful clumsimulator !

You are drunk and you come home at dawn but instead of crashing in your bed, you decide, proudly, to go water your plants in the balcony. You just have to do that to finish that glorious night !

This game is build to fit a certain type of controlers (A video will be published about that). But for you all sober fellows we had some keyboard controls.

We made every assets and we craft everything from that bloody Unreal Engine, we didn't know nothing about it and we've still have a lot to learn. We will certaintly improve the game in the next week. It was quite fun and cool to do this Ludum Dare once again !

Enjoy !

ps : There are many bugs everywhere, don't worry we know !

pps : Post-Jam version fixes the one player/two player choice and some bug about arms positions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#313Humor(Jam)3.00
#513Audio(Jam)3.00
#552Theme(Jam)3.63
#619Graphics(Jam)3.25
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#689Innovation(Jam)2.88
#839Overall(Jam)2.96
#921Fun(Jam)2.59

Comments

juaxix says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:41pm

It's cute :)
thanks for the code

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Wanted to play it, but itch.io gives me only 130kbit/s download speed. Dont know why. Please consider using another hoster :)

luysse_l says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:45pm

very fun game and i love this graphic, nice work

Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:39am

Interesting idea that boils down to moving a difficult to control arm left and right. A little bit too simple for me.

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:53am

Pro:
+ Interesting concept
+ Should be fun to play with another person (I tried 2 players mode by myself)
+ Cute Models and music
Con:
- A challenge for 1 player mode would be nice
- Some water animation would be nice
Obs:
o Intro screen changes too hast

Good work!

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:38pm

I feel like a mom looking out for her children.

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:12pm

I really liked the look of the game! :)
Though I think the arm moving mechanic could use some work.

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:58am

Interesting game and concept!

It would have been nice to have the drunk fight back against the player every now and again, or move themselves in a random direction :)

Otherwise I think you should go back to the game and add more to it! Maybe different things to do while drunk :)

Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Thanks for the comments, it's planned to make more "chalenge" in the controls, we have been blocked by some essential gameplay bugs that make us lost A LOT of time.

The game is designed to be played with a "glass controller" that add by himself a lot of chalenge too.
I'm focus on another project for now but I will finish this one soon enouth. ;)

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:37pm

this is a funny idea! :D good work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]